You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Seriously DTube.. what's going on?

in #dtube7 years ago

Files in the IPFS network will disappear after the network decides the file is not popular enough and no longer needed. This is about 1 day after upload.
To prevent this DTube pays 25% of your earnings to ipfsstore.it. They charge 0.044 USD/Gigabyte per month. After this money is depleted they delete your video. So your video should at least stay online till payout after 7 days. To be sure they stay online you could seed the videos yourself.

I tried to pin and seed your videos from my ipfs node, but I can't fetch the videos over IPFS. Seems like they are really offline.

Sort:  

Oh, is that a fact? Can I read about it somewhere? I'm asking because that creates a serious problem for me, and if that is a fact, I can't use DTube for my work. I'm not here to try to earn as much as possible in 7 days. I'm here to build a community. And at least in my case, it was just a few days before they went offline. Very disappointing.

I need to have a platform where my videos will stay online so that people can find them also at a later time. If the system works like you mentioned, it is also very challenging for content creators who are here with a smaller following and/or is not posting mainstream material (here it seems to be anything related to cryptocurrencies etc) or something with a shock value.

Really appreciate your help @arv1, so if you can share more about the issue, about the IPFS network, I'm very grateful. This is a determining factor for me. I hope I could stay on DTube because there is much in this platform that I like, but if what you mentioned is right, I'm forced to go back to YouTube and/or Vimeo.

It would be of course really cool to get a response from @heimindanger, but I bet he gets so many comments and questions that it is very unlikely.

Please @dtube, let's not make me go back to YouTube! I would love to stay here.

So that basically means that the site is essentially worthless if you want to use it like an archive? That's what I was going for. Sort of like a cloud.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60745.98
ETH 2342.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52