Sort:  

A fast probably wouldn't work and might cause more damage than it could solve. Bear in mind I've a 4+ year history of SIBO with successive treatments of antibiotics, herbal antimicrobials and trying to address the overgrowth with every specific food exclusion diet known to man lol None, of this has worked. I've also tried pretty much every angle supplement-wise. Probiotics were the worst. They made me blow up like a balloon. Very painful bloating and excessive gas.

This is the last resort. I have tried fasts before, the longest one (water fast) I managed was 7 days. I suspect that the overgrowth is so entrenched that I would have to fast for 2-3 weeks to see any effect, but as I'm suffering chronic fatigue, most probably due to nutrient malabsorption because the bacteria have caused a really bad mess in my guts, full on fasting is a bad idea. Also, three weeks without food is coming close to starvation. Tbh, an elemental diet is as close as you can come to fasting while still taking on nutrients.

So many more people experiencing major bowel issues, it's really good to see SIBO talked about.

Yeah, it's so sad that so many more people are having serious gut conditions and I'm pretty sure the culprit is processed food. In fact I'm sure of it. Once I've found the solution to my condition I'm eating 100% natural and organic. If I have bread etc, I'm going to make it all myself, which I did a lot of anyway over the last few years but organic is hard to afford where I live on a low income. It's catch 22.

Thanks for checking out my post artemis. I hope my answer to your question made sense, I'm at the far extreme of SIBO symptom-wise, hence the extreme diet/treatment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61812.63
ETH 2432.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63