MAKING SNOW PT.2 - d.tube - Behind the scenes at North Americas largest Ski Resort!

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


(click image above for video)

Hello everyone! We are well into the ski season here in Park City Utah. Despite the unusually warm weather we are working hard to make artificial snow for the mountain. We are a month and a half into the resort being open, and the only snow people are skiing on is man made. All of park city is reaping the benefits of the snow we are creating. I think I should get a raise. It has been a lot of hard work, and I managed to get some footage at work. Check this video out if you ever wanted to get a behind the scenes look at what goes into making artificial snow for a world class resort.

In part 2 of this snow-making series I focus on the work that has to be done at night. for around 8 hours each shift we are in darkness. We travel the mountain with snowmobiles and headlamps checking our hundreds of guns with only a small light. The darkness adds another level to the danger factor, making it all the more exhilarating.

All night we work around the mountain like little ants. Until the graveyard shift comes in we need to be vigilante about changing temperatures and wind direction. Once our work has been done we leave the whole system running and pass it off to the next crew of over worked and tired ski bums.


Thank you all for reading and watching. Beyond grateful that I have a community here to share my adventures with. Please leave a comment and let me know what you think!

(here is the youtube link if you are running into troubles with dtube)

Sort:  

This is so cool!! We need this in Utah this year! We've had only 1 snow storm so far.

I know! It's the saddest thing ever. My life is snowboarding I need the winter. Pray to the show gods!!!

Thanks for watching and for the feedback.

🔥🔥🔥🔥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59