You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I am impressed with Dtube - I like it better than YouTube

in #dtube7 years ago

I honestly never heard of it, what is it exactly ? It looks like steemit but for videos. Are the videos actually hosted on the blockchain ? That would be awesome. I like the fact that there is a voting system similar to steemit which allows you to see the impact you have on a content creator with your upvote. Instead of watching a random annoying ad that will probably bring a fraction of a penny to the content creator !

Sort:  

It is a Steemit for videos using Steem blockchain.

videos are stored in the cloud using ipfs ... not on blockchain ... reference hash used by ipfs to locate uploaded video is stored on steem blockchain.

this video explains the basics of the IPFS internet protocol.
I just learned about it myself after doing some search on how dtube stores videos.
It's pretty exciting stuff,technology wise it seems far superior to HTTP which the vast majority of the modern internet is build on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67708.83
ETH 3801.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48