You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The core concepts of DTube's new blockchain

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)

Going to need to finish this but this stuck out.

Avalon ensures that the number of printed tokens is proportional to the number of users with active stake. If more users come in, avalon prints more tokens, if users cash-out and stop transacting, the inflation goes down. This ensures that earning 1 DTC will be about as hard today, tomorrow, next month or next year, no matter how many people have registered or left d.tube, and no matter what happens on the markets.

I've mentioned dynamic inflation to another user but what I didn't do was base it on active stake which I think is really slick that you chose that way.

I was thinking it adjusting to market value but now that I consider, that is a poor metric to use as it is something that could be manipulated.

Downvote rewards

Hmmm. I get the distinct feeling I've heard about something like this before.🤪

I just can't put my finger on it.🤔

So, the idea is once I post is zeroed, folks get rewards from getting to that point? I plan on perusing the GitHub and getting a better feel.

I still need to rebuild my box but am interested in what you got going on for sure. I would like to run a leader and contribute more.

Btw created a new video to dtube. Think it has its moments. Premise was someone tweeted about one being as cool as the # of network interfaces on their system. Long story short. Found the loophole in loopback adapters. Hope yall get some shits and giggles out of it. :)

Sort:  

Dynamic inflation is also the way I call it. I believe it is a necessary feature for a social blockchain trying to distribute rewards as fairly as possible, and trying to make it work 'forever'. The goal is to have a stable monetary incentive for people to join or stay active. On STEEM, we saw this incentive going down a lot through time as more users join, and the reward pool declines (even if you look at it in STEEM, not $), then reward_pool/users (i.e. the average incentive) goes down even faster.

About downvote rewards, it works just like upvotes. You cannot 'zero' a DTC content. If you downvote, the content payout will actually increase, because your downvote will reward past downvoters. What you can lower (even lower than 0), is the 'Voting Power' spent on the content by just downvoting enough. For example if you manage to keep the content's VP (upvotes_vp - downvotes_vp) in the negatives, then the author of the video would stop earning rewards even if someone upvotes his video, because the popularity is currently lower (<0) than what it was when the author voted (0).

For a long time in 2018, YouTube did the same, Videos went super-viral if they had tons of downvotes. As long as they did not violate the rules, obviously. Maybe they still do, I dont know, I dont can't make a case for it.

Sorry it was 2016 :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64284.72
ETH 2650.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79