You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How grandpa taught

in #dtube5 years ago

I just came across this video through @paintinangels' her post, and wow what a wonderful and wise man your grandfather was! When you said he bought the whole box, I assumed the story was going to go in this direction, as a lesson to help the boy, and I'm glad it did. This boy must have felt like a rockstar after your grandfather bought the whole box. I can only imagine how happy he went back home that day!

The world needs more people like your grandfather, and I love how he taught you a life lesson that has stayed with you forever. You said you got emotional even now, I did as well, I always get emotional when people share stories like this, because I would want the world to all think that way..

I live in Budapest myself, and the thing that is the hardest on me living here, is dealing with the many (many many) homeless people. They are everywhere and a lot of them look like they died a few weeks ago, which makes me sad, and a lot of times very emotional as well. Whenever I can (aka when I have cash, or when I just bought food or about to buy food) I try to help a few by giving them something, afterwards I feel shitty because I could only do that for one or two people, but in the end I know that I can't help them all. So at least I tried to help one or two within my possibilities at that moment...

I've been homeless myself as well together with my boyfriend (I was even pregnant with my daughter at the time) and government/friends/family all thought it would never get better for us, nobody believed we'd crawl up, but we did. I made a choice, we left the country with just a few suitcases and never looked back. Lived in Spain for 14 months and almost 2 years in Budapest now, we took opportunities and we actually have it a lot better now than we had it in Holland (the country that everyone says is so good for their people, which is really not true, while they talk bad about Hungary in Europe we have experienced it different)...

Ah this is becoming a book lol, the moral of my story here was actually to show that I value these stories/life lessons a lot more than other things.. these are precious and things you will never forget and pass on to others.. Keep doing that, I'm sure your grandfather is proud up there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57912.63
ETH 2348.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37