Life in the Caribbean - Visiting a Hidden Lagoon

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Despite it being one of the most beautiful places on earth, one of the cons of living in the Caribbean is that nowadays it´s a trending destination. Wherever you look at you will find a touristic group; if you throw a stone it will definitely land in a resort, a restaurant or a condo development.

This means that most of the nice day trip destinations is always crowded and, since most people only visit these spots to take an instagram picture and then leave, most places have a lot of movement during the day.

But this is not the case for Kann Luum Lagoon...

A hidden spot between Playa del Carmen and Cancun, Kaan Luum Is an Ejido, which means it's a Mayan group owned piece of land, that it can't be sold to private entities, it's from the Mayan community.

This place is not even known among locals, you really have to dig deep to find out how it's called and where it is, so please don't share this particular article in social media haha, to keep it a secret.

The bank of the lagoon is made of mud and minerals, this means you can use it to exfoliate your skin (you'll see me doing exactly my that in the video). The place is not crowded - for Caribbean standards - and it's surrounded by jungle.

There's a limit to where you can swim though, because there's a very deep cenote in the middle of the lagoon, where people can easily drown if they're not cautious. It's mainly used to do scuba diving, so they don't let people go through. If you ask me, that's a wise decision.

I hope you enjoy this video, this was definitely one of the most amazing day trips I've had in the Caribbean :)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

My wife and I went to Quintana Roo for our honeymoon last August. It is such a beautiful place and the Mayan people are by far the most friendly and captivating people I have ever met.

We were up and down the Mayan Riviera coastline exploring all sorts of sites and sounds. There are definitely touristy area we visited, all gorgeous, but the crowds definitely turn us off. Thanks to some awesome locals we continued to meet, we did find several hidden gems (playas, cenotes, etc.) similar to this. It is such a rich, vibrant and energetically charged region. Magic is in the water.

I cannot wait to return soon. And now it looks like Kann Luum is another adventure to pursue (but we'll keep the secret)!

Oh wow! This place looks amazing! I have been living in Playa del Carmen for almost two years now and I thought I knew most of the cool places around but I had never heard of this lagoon actually :) Thank you so much for sharing this hidden gem with us, I will definitely check it out, maybe tomorrow :D

Btw, just discovered a wonderful cenote today - Yax-Kin - we were the only people there for almost two hours! Highly recommended! Here are some shots I took there:)

54523647_2237414676524835_7931567722440163328_n.jpg

54385143_2642018012538534_7059565322696654848_n.jpg

Cheers from Playa! :)

When I was in the Caribbean we went to a lagoon very similar to that, with a deep cenote in the center that made me nervous. But the edge was shallow, with mineral mud like you describe. A local brought us out there—it wasn't easy to get to. Don't remember the name of it, but it was maybe 20 minutes outside of Tulum. Thanks for reminding me of my own adventures by taking me along with yours. :)

Whats that sign in the back? I imagine something as “ do not swim pass through this net or a big white could eat you”

Posted using Partiko iOS

Something like that haha, it's about not crossing the line or the Ejido will get a hold of you (not the police), so I have no idea what would happen to you if you cross the limit 😅😅😅

Glad you're living life, my dood. I mean, I would hope you're at least getting your nipples electrocuted by a car battery every now and again, maybe slapping some moist taints here and there, but I guess just swimming in a lagoon is cool too.

Ahaha well, I'd rather have my nipples electrocuted by a redhead, not a car battery, but to each their own :P
A cool thing about this place is that they dont allow the use of sunscreen or mosquito repellent to avoid damaging the environment

Looks like a great place man :D

It's amazing, truly one of the best hidden gems I've found in the area. Good to hear about you man, long time no see on the blockchain!

I love the lagoon.. but you know what I love more? That you took my advice from ages ago and did essentially an expressions only, no talking vid. You nailed it!

It is great for locals to have these treasured coves protected for themselves! Those that do not benefit from being close are often exploited by tourists and not maintained well. It looks like a great spot to relax!

What a sweet sweet day it is to get to witness a topless Nomad. I thought I was in for a bonus speedo shot but guess ill have to settle for short shorts

No more naked nomad themed posts or @honeydue will lecture me about it :( ahahaha

I think I will never wear a speedo, I'd rather go naked :P

Oh come on, I meant other nomads, naturally ;P How could I object to you?

As for speedos, yuck. Definitely agree with you on that :))

Your secret is safe with us? 🤣 look like a nice spot 🙃

Thanks, I knew I could trust you ♥️ hahaha
Always nice to hear about you, that goat image has become your signature, I always recognize it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60752.38
ETH 2453.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63