VARENIKY WITH MASHED POTATOES - VIDEO

in #dtube7 years ago


Pierogi have become so popular that we eat them everywhere in Russia, Latvia & all over Eastern European countries! To me nothing says more comfort food than these yummy potatoes and onion filled dumplings! Vareniki also known as Perogies is a staple Slavic dish for centuries. Although time consuming, they are simple to make with easy to find ingredients.

Once made, the dumplings can be frozen between layers of cling film until needed. Simply cook from frozen. Serve with melted butter and sautéed onions. The recipe has been in the family for generations, with a few alterations of course! Serve plain, or with butter, sour cream, bacon, etc. Perfecting the perogie technique takes time, and after a while, you will develop your own system. They're delicious garnished with some of the fried onion held back from the filling, as well as a drizzle of melted butter or a dollop of sour cream. Eat them as a side dish or serve with a green salad to make them a meal.

For Vareniki we will need:

185 ml OR ⅔ cups buttermilk ( Kefir)
1 Tbsp sour cream
2 large eggs
2 cups warm water
1 tsp salt
840 OR 7 cups of plain flour + extra if needed

Filling
6-8 potatoes
2 onions
Butter for onions 50 gr
Butter for potatoes 100-150 gr
oil
Salt & Pepper


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I've seen your previous videos from YouTube and learned how to cook. I could not cook before I could learn more after watching many new recipes.

yeah thanks you really can!

But you actually make a lot of beautiful videos. I'm very happy to watch your video

I love these. We eat them all the time. There is a restaurant in Toronto which serves pierogi with all different types of toppings. Asian duck, Italian Ragu, Japanese hot pot, roasted chicken and leeks........ loads and loads of different toppings.

hehe they are soo good!!! ooh wow never heard of those toppings, thats def westernised!! :D

I know, I was walking in like .......... ooookay. But anyway sat down and was amazed!!

your every video nicely.. and this video absolutely creating awesome..i think deliciusfood my favourite

aww thank you so much! i try!!!!

Ahhh Pierogi!! SOOOO GOOD! My Grandmother used to make them at Christmas every year when I was a child. So yummy and such warm memories. Thank you for sharing. The world needs more pierogi and the good feeling & satisfied tummies they bring :)

heheh yes they do!! :) they are the best!

That looks good! I'm going to try to make it this weekend.

Pierogi!!! wow, i must try it one day....hope it will be delicious .

I have been craving perogi so much. You have just inspired me. I think I may make these for dinner.

Thank you!

OMG, these are my favourite!! And I usually steal the filling even before it's time to put it into dumplings and eat it as it is. :D

How are you feeling now, Alla? Hope you're on the fast recovery course!!

hehhe they are great!! :))) im still sick sadly!!!

Get well soon!

Upvoted! For the ones who liked this post, vareniki with potatoes are also good when served with sour cream, other names are creme fraiche or smetana ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57530.32
ETH 2439.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37