You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My SIBO Story (part 2) - The Elemental (Mental) Diet - 3 Weeks Without Food

in #dtube5 years ago

This sort of reminds me of the gaps diet. I was diagnosed in 2016 with fibromyalgia. I used the gaps diet to do a lot of initial healing. The gaps diet has stages, with the first being almost completely a liquid diet. This diet too has the idea of destabilizing the gut flora and re-establishing a healthy Flora. I used it successfully a couple years ago, but ran into some issues with preparing my food and fell off the track. However, my symptoms have not gotten nearly as bad as they were before the diet. I was quite amazed to see the amount of healing that took place. I definitely need to get back to it. This diet seems very interesting and I’m going to do more research into it. Thanks!

I hope you find relief ! I know a bit what it’s like to have a chronically imbalanced gut.

Sort:  

Hi @alchemage

I was diagnosed in 2016 with fibromyalgia. I used the gaps diet to do a lot of initial healing. The gaps diet has stages, with the first being almost completely a liquid diet.

That is rough that you have/had fibromyalgia. I have a friend who suffers that and one of my biggest concerns with my case of SIBO is that I exhibit some of the symptoms of fibromyalgia (although in a less extreme way); chronic fatigue and muscle aches being the main ones. But I also get long recovery periods after exercise (it's rare I do exercise these days because of the fatigue), it's like my body isn't in balance.

I'm hopeful about this elemental diet, as it's day 5 and this is the first day I've not felt really dodgy. I even went for a short walk to a place called Cathedral Gardens in the city where I live (gonna put a short photography post up about it later), meditated and wrote some poetry.

I've also been partially following the Win Hof method over the last 2 days (only breathing and cold shower) and this seems to have had some effect. Mainly in my mentality and mindfulness. The stress of what is happening to my body is a big factor and the breathing in the Win Hof seems to have negated a big portion of that stress. Ha ha, every time I drink the elemental formula, I blow up like a balloon, but that's to be expected in these early days.

Anyway, I'm rambling. I've heard of the GAPs diet and I'm glad it helped you. Take care and thanks for your support and telling me your story :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
SBD 2.31