Confronting the racism of #BlackLivesMatter

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


I was so down ... until they insulted my mother.

Get the MOST IMPORTANT BOOK EVER for FREE in every format including audiobook at http://thefreedomline.com/freedom Please support FREEDOM! by liking and sharing this video, subscribing, and sharing! Then for everything else: http://TheFreedomLine.com


► Watch on DTube
► Watch Source (IPFS)

Sort:  

It was interesting that they kept connecting your ability to film them to your whiteness and privilege even though they have the same exact right..... And when that one girl did pull out her phone and started filming I suspect that they were hoping you would react the same way they did. Crazy stuff. Thanks for sharing!

Haha I usually stick with, "are you a girl, you sound like a girl". That line used to tilt kids on halo so hard.

Yeah, arguing with racists is pointless. When-ether they are black or white, doesn't matter.

This is a great, encompassing post. It definitely beats fallacy, it operates on the realm of reality and perfect design for hunanity.

Hey, @adamkokesh. I'm a big fan of your book, and your zeal. Thanks for your brave activism!

I'm really sorry you and your mom were insulted, and treated disrespectfully. That was hard to watch.

It was ALSO hard to watch your insistent refusal to respect THEIR desire to not be video-recorded.

I empathized with the frustration of a STRANGER thrusting himself and his camera in my face, asking me questions, WHILE NEVER BOTHERING TO IDENTIFY HIMSELF, OR HIS MOTIVE, TO ME.

You did extend your hand, and properly introduced yourself to the cops. Why couldn't the group of women receive the same benefit when you first approached them??

Do you really believe that being anywhere in public means one HAS to subject themselves to be video-recorded by an unidentified person?? You don't find that the least bit intrusive?

They DID seem poised for hostility. But you also seemed poised for antagonism.

Again, my comments are not at all intended to make excuse for their embarrassing behavior... but I just have to say I don't see your full innocence here.

In the future, if you address ANY group of people with the same basic journalistic courtesy that you gave the cops, I think it's very likely you'll have a more positive experience.

If you are a 'friendly' or even a 'neutral,' then identify yourself as such. Let it be known that you genuinely seek truth, and I believe you COULD and WOULD be received, because you DO have a special charism.

But you didn't share any of that with them, Adam.

Bottomline: They were disrespectful in their treatment of you and your mom, AND you were also disrespectful of their stated request to not be filmed.

You continued to record against their volunteered participation, and that was not cool.

As a person who does not like being photographed or recorded, I can understand how uncomfortable this situation could have been, especially after expressing a dislike toward the action. At first, I did not view this encounter from the individual's perspective, considering what they were thinking during that moment, what they were feeling. It is quite possible that removing the camera could have been that connection, or as I stated in my previous comment "a legitimate opening", to have a healthy conversation. Showing that sign of respect could have opened a positive dialogue.

This could be a great opportunity to learn, grow and connect. I would be interested in your response to this Adam, and I thank you so very much Erika for bringing this opportunity to grow together!

@cmduncan94: Thank you so much, Che, for your openness to consider the others’ perspective. I hope @adamkokesh does the same.😊

Yeah, I just didn’t like blame being heaped, with no recognition of the PROVOCATION that came before their bad behavior.

If you have trouble viewing, please watch it here:

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on steemit. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Dtube videos are painfully slow " error " gateway 502 " . I support BLm and ALM

Awesome article, feel free to follow.

I detest racist so much with my whole life...damn it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62938.49
ETH 2469.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62