You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Day After Dallas (7-10-16)

in #dtube7 years ago

Yeah, unfortunately that falls under that risk/benefit analysis that i mentioned earlier. In that book that I shared the link to, it is recommended that you don't do anything that would draw attention to yourself (not having the "proper papers" would qualify), but I've always struggled with that one. Personally, I do like to push boundaries so i stick my neck out there more than most people would. That isn't to knock anyone who doesn't, because those hefty fines and the possibility of a cage in your future are very real. There do have to be risk takers in such movements, though. Ones willing to take the extra step, not out of an idea of martyrdom but just because they recognize that someone needs to be the spark. That is why one of my favorite quotes of all time (overlooking the use of the word patriot, which I have issues with) is still from Mark Twain/Samuel Clemens...

"In the beginning of a change the patriot is a scarce man, and brave, and hated and scorned. When his cause succeeds, the timid join him, for then it costs nothing to be a patriot."

12968179_10206448158154294_4630619055539245799_o.jpg

Sort:  

Ya man! I need to go read that book. I have heard awesome quotes like the one you shared many times over the years. I think i might have missed something i feel i will like. I like sticking my neck out as well. However im broke and broken and i dont have friends per say because i worked and went home. My children are almost old enough to spread their wings and fly and my plan is to essentially become that hermit and disappear onto some property if i can find it reasonably and in a not so harsh environment where government has made it near impossible to live free. That is my dream and hopefully my retirement. I want to spend my last years benefitting me and not so much others as i have been serving others my whole life.

I understand that. My goal is to get out of my current location, relocate to somewhere more rural (with less government intrusions), and start farming. The long term goal is to build an intentional community around said farm. The hope is that it will be a beacon for others, to show what is possible outside of the State.

My only fear with that is we have seen communities in the past be labled as radicals and then taken out like scum. Of course no one left alive to speak anything good about the community. How does one keep in the lime light so to speak and be well known and still remain free from the society? There is never a place so far away from government that they have no idea you are there.

It's not easy. And, yes, people like the folks in Waco and Ruby Ridge are pretty gruesome examples of what the US government is will to do to keep its power. There is a balance to be struck, between quietly "seceding" to build a community and keeping appearances up that you're not (while still allowing yourself to be an example for others). I'm not exactly sure how that plays out, but it seems like the best option for me and mine at this juncture. In next week's episode of Abolitionist Abstractions, my guest and i will actually touch on this.

Awesome! I cant wait to hear some hopefully new refreshing ideas. Freedom has almost been achieved a few times in history. We humans at some point must achieve this as a whole or all the blood shed over thousands of years has been in vain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62186.49
ETH 2417.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56