Where should you be promoting yourself and your content? Easy! @dtube!

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


In today's vlog, I look at the top most followed accounts here on the Steem Blockchain and explain why I think @dtube is the key account to be looking at.

If you are looking for more followers, the potential big vote, or wish to promote yourself or your content, @dtube stand out for many reasons when compared to other top followed accounts.

Best to 'practice what you preach' and so if you would like the chance to win some SBD or Delegation just by engaging, see below!

https://steemit.com/steemit/@abh12345/steemit-the-curation-leagues-sbd-and-delegation-prizes

Comments for and against my personal opinion are welcome!

Cheers!

Asher @abh12345


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I completely agree that you have the best chance of upvote from DTube, though I do wish that a.) They voted more often with their insane amount of delegated SP that was given to them for that exact purpose and b.) that they would do a better curation job.

Now, I totally get it. It is easy to jump all over the problems of a platform without truly appreciating how much work goes into it. Most of these programs are still in their absolute infancy, and I do think people are too critical. The Amazing Atheist for instance, was complaining the other day about how slow DTube is, and how long it takes to upload. Well, by all means, if he wants to give some of that sweet, sweet YouTube money to pay some more developers to make DTube better more quickly, so be it. I don't have that kind of money to hand over though, so I try not to be too critical of the progress being made on DTube, as they don't have a terrible amount of control over that right now. I tend to be more critical however of the areas that they can control, like how they distribute their SP. I imagine it wouldn't be too hard to find trustworthy Steemians to help delegate the SP so that the majority of quality content is upvoted on every day, and so those people creating that content, don't get discouraged and leave. I have been trying to establish a daily Steemit news show, covering the happenings on Steemit, and introducing new Steemians every day, and the quality doesn't change, nor my format or thumbnails, but the upvotes from Dtube are so rando! It leaves me bewildered to say the least! I can definitely see where people get frustrated. But all in all, it's still the best shot at getting at least a couple of good upvotes a week!

I do wonder who controls that account. The way they upvote suggests they don't care for the long term stability of the platform.

They're just using their wealth to mess with people's heads.

Power with no responsibility. Then again, that's anarcho-capitalism!

The key to making major money on dtube? Drop a mug! :p

https://steemit.com/news/@paolajane/lhefyebr

Sigh.

I can either listen to a user talk all day, or see one video and never want to have my ears bleed again.

No prizes or mugs for guessing which category this one fell into s few months back!

Honestly I'm not going to get embroiled in a tit for tat exchanging the highest paid for the lowest quality Dtube posts ... I'll just say 'I feel your pain' and leave it at that!

Although I noticed when that particular user signed up and thought 'YouTube personality type' she'll do well', and so it cam to pass!

Oh I wasn't trying to start a tit for tat. I'm being serious. I have a lot of mugs at home that I don't use! :)

Ahh, your ears were bleeding too?!

Hi @bethwheatcraft

Excellent comments, you have a new follower :)

a.) They voted more often with their insane amount of delegated SP that was given to them for that exact purpose

They do like to keep the vote power % above 95% I see, so this could be achieved by reducing the size of the votes I guess

b.) that they would do a better curation job

I think everyone bar @exyle has said this - I have, they dont vote me every time - just like here!

I have been trying to establish a daily Steemit news show, covering the happenings on Steemit, and introducing new Steemians every day, and the quality doesn't change, nor my format or thumbnails, but the upvotes from Dtube are so rando! It leaves me bewildered to say the least! I can definitely see where people get frustrated. But all in all, it's still the best shot at getting at least a couple of good upvotes a week!

I will have to take a look :)

The team manually curate, as apposed to @utopian-io for example, who approve/reject, and then all the approved go into a pot in which submission category, and number of submissions are calculated to return a voting weight which is applied to each individual post.

With manual curation, it's not going to be perfect, and so when you are missed for producing the same quality it is frustrating - I'm totally with you having been missed on my last 2 vlogs.

They are still however, a far better prospect than anything else above, and i'll continue to vlog as I hope you will too.

Now, time to go check your Steemit show :D

Does Dtube has any criteria for upvoting a Vlog just like Utopian? I actually saw a post where the person downloaded a video from Youtube and published on Dtube and they gave him an upvote of arounf $50. On the other hand, some original content was completely ignored! Though they aren't bound to upvote every video but they shouldn't be upvoting a video that is not the author's work!

Well I assume they have criteria, but there is nothing laid out like @utopian-io.

This doesn't sound like a good curation job, unless the content was the individuals originally?

Its tough for them I guess, they even missed this vlog promoting them! :D

I don't think they have any discord channel as well where we can report such issues.

Its tough for them I guess, they even missed this vlog promoting them! :D

Lol, yours one payout is still above $100, mine one hasn't crossed $1 :D

https://discord.gg/9HuQmZ is the general dtube channel

Yes I got frustrated with the lack of dtube vote and sent the bot army! :D

Lol, I don't believe on bots and I pray you get the upvote from them today, do the same for me :P

I've asked the exact same thing myself before... I think it's just controlled by someone who likes spreading a bit of discord.

I happen to agree f4f does not seem to add a lot of value. I have this one person in particular who almost follows and unfollows me daily trying to get follows. I just laugh because anyone following someone not for their content but for their follow is just treating people like a number. People have been treated like a number their whole life they should not be looking to be treated like that here.

Dtube is really a smart place to be these days. I just don’t produce or want produce that kind of content. For those that are I would recommend giving both a written format and video format like we can see on this blog. There is a demographic who prefers videos and those who will still want written content. I've seen a lot of just video with zero added text. Seems like lost potential for not putting in little extra effort. Even more so when written content can compliant the video nicely.

I have been tempted to even more so for some plans i have in gaming coming up in a couple of weeks. I just don't talk a lot so it would be rather boring.

I see lots of gamers who don't talk much, and I don't think @acidyo uses a mic when he plays.

Today I've not added a lot of text and did think about doing a blog for this, but I think I maybe spoke 1000+ words in the vlog and this is the reason for the @dtube video today.

Cheers for your fine comments as usual :)

Thanks for this! Perfect timing since I just did my first dtube video yesterday!! Haha @abh12345..."every day guy just doing his best" lol love it.

Thanks for linking to a curation post...I'm in the middle of reading it now. I'm pretty new here and I'm trying to figure out the benefits of curation leagues/trails, so I definitely appreciate the information you're putting out here for us!!

Thank you! Upvoted and following you with steemify notifications!

haha, thank you :D That's me!

Well my plan worked perfectly then, as long as you drop a comment on the Curation League post wishing to join the fun :D

Thank you for watching and commenting, see you on the Blockchain soon I hope!

Your best is pretty dang good. Yeah you will! Gonna get on the blockchain because it's off the chain! Lol. Thank you for replying and also checking out my post! That was unexpected but made my night :)

ha! :P

Well I had to go see your first video didn't I, and now I could definitely eat a pancake :D

i think that dtube posts are generally of the talking head variety and that this means that the information/Megabytes ratio is extremely low. I think the greatest threat to the steem blockchain is content spam of the video variety.

I have, for instance, written a very long and involved series of posts entitled privacy workshop and find myself wondering why I write 30k words for about $100 while I see people sharing almost no information, uploading 200mb to say 'i think btc is going up!' or 'vegan food is great!' and make $1k per post or something. It seems like a joke.

I find so far steemit a profoundly anti-intellectual place filled with bots and people gaming the system, and cops. and upvote/resteem scams.

You aren't too far out with your assessment, especially when we relate to $.

Under the surface though, there are 1000's of smart, good people just waiting for their content to be seen and I guess my talking head video is a call to these people to 'bite the shyness bullet', and introduce themselves and their content here.

This is the current state of affairs, and you can choose to ride the wave or become disgruntled and find another place. Have you thought about doing a short video?

'Hi i'm @mindhawk, I usually write 30000 word blogs and this is 2 minute intro to my most recent masterpiece' :)

lol yeah i have, i have also put songs up on open mic which is rewarding and ill do it again

however the nature of my work, ie i actually prove there are elite rich people who abuse children, and that the police state in the usa is violating the constitution habitually, and etc, I have to be semianonymous. this won't protect me much but i just have to keep some divide between the heavy stuff i write about and my name id.

i have decided thought that im going to take seriously posting to dsound though, i have some funny light stuff and also just me talking about the same stuff which is good spoken word content.

thanks for the suggestion and the kind words. if privacy workshop #1 doesn't convince you that im writing about important stuff, then it probably just isn't for you. but it could still eventually be, if you encounter the scary side of the police state. once you do though, there isn't really a going back it changes you.

I have to be honest and say, your work will be greatly appreciated by some, and overlooked and shied away from by the majority due to the intensity and subject matter.

I concede that I am in the 2nd category above.

There will however be some large accounts that will support this kind of work well, and I guess that once you have gained traction there, you'll feel that the effort you put in on this serious matter will be worthwhile.

Good luck to you.

thanks i guess

writers write about what puzzles them, i am puzzled when others are not puzzled by the same things, or don't want to be informed about things that affect them. what i would prefer to money is someone to actually prove i'm wrong at one of my points of logic, because this stuff is disturbing to me and it is a lot to bear to know it.

i especially am curious why when i say a bold claim, like 'i have proven that there is systemic legalized child abuse in the united states, there are people so powerful that they can steal children to abuse and they are getting away with it as we speak'

people go ho hum. like it couldn't happen here or something, or they are too busy to be concerned. i just don't get it. the evidence is overwhelming. well you can lead a horse to water....everyone has to make their own moral choices. it's not like i didn't know most usa folk were sleepwalking.

Just logged into dtube for the first time- thanks to you! Time to get a dtube video going for me!

I would love to see you do a video! Please do!

Talk about all the good stuff you've been up to and i'm sure it'll be a winner!

Hey @goldendawne, that would be awesome! Pehaps you could do one in connection with Dear Dawne sometime and have people submit questions ahead of time? It's a big step though hey? Even though I taught high school for years, and talking in front of people doesn't bother me, I don't think I'm there yet! :)

Now that is an interesting idea! I will talk with Dave!
hmmm, I am liking the idea more and more as I think of the possibilities!

oh good, I'm glad you like the idea!

Well, I haven't tried vlogging yet! That's something I'm going to look into now, thanks for this!

It's worth a shot dude!

Promote the next Thunderclap there and see what happens, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised!

Noted on To-Do list.

yeah. i think D-tube is a way of promoting contents. but i think your major stake (followers) would come from people who subscribe (those who like) your content.

so it might be kinda a big task getting to make people like what you like, or trying to switch your personality just to get huge followers.

nice info @abh12346

but your description tho

everyday guy doing his best

got me really laughing

Good-Fellows.gif

hahaha, great! As long as you are laughing with me that's fine! :D :D

think your major stake (followers) would come from people who subscribe (those who like) your content.

For sure, then you can always 'fall back' on the nice up-vote from @dtube with any luck! :D

I suggest just being you, it's much harder and less rewarding trying to be anyone else!

Thank you for your comments :D

I remember watching dollarvigilante's video before joining steemit. The video on youtube was titled some thing like this "I made 1500$ on my first post on steemit". This video seriously gives some unrealistic goals to some new comers. Those who come watching videos like these they would basically quit soon after not seeing that kind of earning.

Jerrybanfield also has a similar video too.

Most of the people who are subscribed to them or have joined here after watching their ad instantly follow these people as soon as there password is approved.

As far as others are concerned i hardly came across them. And by the way you are also not far behind. You have some genuine followers and this number will increase soon.

Since your reach is organic and through posting of regular content, that day is not far when you will be among 100 most followed steemians.

I agree with this posts being unrealistic for many - the accounts you mentioned either came with a huge following, and or a huge investment, which brought the Whales to come and see.

I started with no following from elsewhere, and not knowing anyone on Steemit, so I think my case is more similar to the majority of joiners.

Regular content is a key to growth, a bit of luck, and plenty of work too!

Thank you for your kind comments! :)

Keep up the sweet promotion ...Resteemed

Just doing my bit, thanks very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46