Whaleshares Experience | Discord Spoken Word Entry

in #dsw6 years ago

Discord Spoken Word Contest

Sunday night was awesome, it was the first time I ever participated in an online spoken word contest on Whaleshares Official Discord

Note: If you don't know what Whaleshares is then please visit Whaleshares.io

90df9cacccbb06c12552c41c8bba4c22bee268de.jpeg

I was not aware about the contest so I had not prepared anything. I was casually surfing on Discord when I saw a notification about the show.

It was to start at 6:00 PM GMT, and I saw the notification at 5:58. But sadly there was no link mentioned so that I could go and at least read the rules for the show.

What are the rules?

A lot of participants were confused and very few knew what was really going to happen.

I didn't even know the topic, how was I to participate?

I asked around and searched on Whaleshares, until I found a post with the details.

The contest is simple with a few rules. People who are interested in participating must prepare a spoken word poem on the topic that was posted by @wolfgang-alpha 24 hours earlier.

The topic was "The Whaleshares Experience".

The contestants must share the text with the host and must present it before the audience.

That's it.

I read the rules twice, understood it once and then hurried to my writing desk to scribble something that would qualify me into the contest.

It took me 8 minutes to think, 3 minutes to write and 4 minutes to rhyme.

It is not perfect, it is not good but it did make me eligible to participate in the Discord Spoken Word Contest.

Whaleshares...

A place where everyone cares
Artists, come up and paint
Readers show up to rate
Opinions you need to share
Fearless get upvotes that are fare

People call it a home
None of you are alone

We all meet on Discord
It's connecting us like an umbilical cord

There's Krista - She's Krazy
Snekky - the Lazy
Bug always with a coffee mug
And Anya, she's not from Kenya
There's woolfgang the alpha
Whaleshares' still in Beta

Welcome to the Whaleshare
A place where everyone cares

This is what I wrote in 15 minutes. My presentation was good but there were good poets and better presenters than me.

Did I win it?

No...

I didn't win the contest but my audience did love me and I found a few admirers.

What did the audience feel about my performance?

I got good reviews, comments and lots of awesome Emojis were dedicated to me.

@StevenWood found my performance amazing and his word have encouraged me to write more poetry and participate in many more future contests.

@Dawizy commented 'Gandalf', I guess he meant my voice was similar to Gandalf the Gray from Lord of the Rings fiction world. I am hubled by your comment Dawizy.

@itk4luv found my mention of Discord as something like an umbilical cord beautiful.

Congratulations to all the winners

@Edwin23, buddy Congratulate on getting the first prize. You are an amazing poet. The first stanza of your spoken word was killer and it killed any or all competition. Your piece was from your heart and it touched everyone's heart.

@Desmoniac1's piece is simple and to the point. He shared his entire social media journey in this small piece.

@Itk4luv narrated her journey into Whaleshares. It is filled with frustration, doubt but at the end she became a Whale on Whaleshares. It is a beautiful piece and it touched and motivated everyone.

Lastly

I thank @wolfgang-alpha for hosting this contest. He is doing a great job by giving all the writers and poets a chance to showcase their talent.

Thanks to all the sponsors

@krazykrista
@vit
@dbread
@samest
@wls-africa

Special thanks to:

@krazykrista, @poeticsnake, @thebugiq, @anyaehrim and @seyiodus for being helpful to me always.

Till next time.

Regards,
@ImranSoudagar

Sort:  

I believe that participation is important and winning is not as important. At least you get to Know and meet new people.

Yes it is important and most people just do not participate because they are afraid of what people might think of them and their work.

Awesome spoken word poem brother! Next time you win.

I will try my best. And hopefully I will win.

Is whaleshares another type of Steemit? I will check it out.

Yes, it is similar to Steemit but with a twist. Check it out. You will love it.

Too bad you didn't win.

Maybe next time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50