Lack of Decentralized Governance.

in #dsteem6 years ago

Seems like every time I take a vacation away from the blockchain I come back to all the projects I've been working on being broken. The last time was @steemj. I used it to make API calls in Java.

This time all my dsteem tutorials are throwing an error:

dsteem error.png

I checked https://developers.steem.io/tutorials-javascript/getting_started
to make sure dsteem is still the go-to API, and it is. Upon further inspection
it looks like I'm using the wrong fork.

dsteem fork.png

I haven't put much time in trying to fix this, but it's pretty annoying that we basically have no incentive for developers to maintain their projects. I guess this is small potatoes in light of Steemit Inc. losing 70% of their staff, but still. I gotta head out for work, but if anyone knows whats up let me know. Thanks in advance!

Sort:  

It sucks, I can see more and more why the price of Steem is relative to the price of bitcoin instead of independent. There isn’t a hell of a lot of incentive for devs to go nuts.
I love the place for sure but I see why people are frustrated with it.

Yes, that's why I was so confused in regard to Steemit Inc's obsession with SMTs. Without a dependable API SMTs aren't worth much. Steem doesn't even need SMTs. The API is much more important.

Same happen to me with dsteem. I forced a known good version in my package.json and did an npm update.

Good idea. I'll try using a previous version as a quick fix.

FYI: As of 2 Dec 2018, I'm using dsteem v0.10.0.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84