'Amber Waves': Original Song – Co-Created With @ill-esha

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

i-macro-3.jpg


This track was created by my dear friend @ill-esha and I in late 2014 – the second song we've written together – a collaboration we fondly refer to as 'Sparrow.'

All production is expertly done by ill-esha, while I primarily write the lyrics and melody, with input from her as well. Vocals are performed by both of us, in harmony.

Lyrically, this song was written from the perspective of Earth itself – imagining what the planet might say to the corporations that greedily consume and manipulate in the interest of boosting their profits – at the great expense of bees and countless other species – threatening the integrity of our global ecosystem.


I stumble, I fall – I fall to my knees
my blood runs black, I feel my disease
bitter fruit grows like invasive weeds
no way to un-plant their poisonous seeds

you might break my heart
but you can't take my soul

this silent spring is so deafening
your hollow words do not comfort me
they sour my taste for your company
won't let you pollute the air that I breathe

you might break my heart
but you can't take my soul

these amber waves of grain will never be the same
these amber waves of grain will never be the same

this is an emergency, an emergency
this is an emergency, an emergency



► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Amazing harmonies... and yes this is an emergency...
Mother Earth is calling
It really makes me cry what we to so with our only home
touches the right strings
pd. production is more mainstream but superlovely, it worked perfectly for me :)
congrats to you both!

Makes me cry, too. Writing this was helpful. I remember, while I was working on the lyrics, just belting out the chorus with so much passion. It made me cry.

Glad you enjoyed this, despite the marked difference in style. <3

Sjoe, this touched me profoundly

Pleased to know it moved you, dearest Thing 1. ;) <3

You are the best Thing 2 ever!!

This is super beautiful as well!

Thank you, sweet @kayclarity! ps – replied to ya on Discord. Come say hello!

I love this tune! It's such a perfect collab. Beautiful harmonies. It's Zippy & ill meets Massive Attack meets Downtempo Bassnectar
Very cool..
Had to resteem...

So glad you enjoyed this @Nathankaye! Before this, we've never released this track. I've always loved it and wanted to share. Guess it took finding Steemit to inspire us to do so. :) Thanks for the resteem!

Too awesome not to resteem!

This is really outstanding!

That good, eh? Awesome! ;)

whoaaaa awesome track!!!! <3

So smoooth...one of those tracks where all the elements fit so perfectly together that you are passed "listening" and fully immersed and one with the sound. A standout collaboration. Looking forward to seeing more from you. Upvoted and followed.

Cheers @budika! As I've said so many times – @ill-esha is an incredibly skilled producer. I've worked with a few, but none so adept as her. It's been years since we created a new track. I think it's time.

Sexy, melancholic, and sexy...so well produced - everything is very seamless. The subtle builds are so tastefully done. Fantastic job!

Thank you @zameena-zen! @ill-esha is such a brilliant producer, truly. It's an honor to work with her – hoping to do so again soon.

We really are at the emergency phase of life extinction in this time.

It certainly feels as though we are. I try not to be pessimistic, but it's damn hard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79