Caller Tune

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Just a song I wrote due to wondering whether or not I could create something catchy and popular, a caller tune even. Maybe I can't, but I can make a song on the possibility at least.

Here's the song lyrics for anyone who feels like reading along

Hook
This is all I want, this is all I do
This is all I know, but you all assume
Can I make dough, can I follow through
Can I make one song that's a caller tune

Verse 1
First and foremost, the verse in short goes
In search of all those that words can hurt most
But still tryna make it not seem so verbose
The god MC not seen in church rows

Now that's a little too dense
They told me 'roll it down the middle' for the students

Like you can just spit, and you can tongue twist
But if you don't dumb it down who would fund this

Im tryna be realistic, you need scheming and business
Please mix it, you're just one voice to speak to these misfits

How they Gonna know if they ain't heard it straight?
You're dropping knowledge in seeds that never germinate

Now you think about it
Drink and doubt it,
Maybe you're the issue
Or maybe you're the greatest and so they ignore to diss you

But that could be a stretch and we're just reaching for it
So you'll be lying to yourself that you should be important

Yeah, you wrote a couple bars
You wrote a couple bars
Is that enough to have you rolling with the stars?

Grab a grammy and then we'll add a pulitzer
Just to ensure you're getting everything that you deserve

You've got an ego about the size of Ego, the planet, well dammit, some thing's about to be blown

We might not be talking bout your rap career
Just your damn viewpoint with that atmosphere

[Hook]

Verse 2

How do I write this
Feeling too tight-lipped
The pen slips, my eyes are deep in a crisis

Better than most rappers, we will never be equal
Maybe I'm acting modest but don't let it deceive you

This is the precipice and I'm effing it with no recognition
My jam a classic, you realize by the second listen

And vis a vis to the current state of society, I'm like a dying breed but y'all playing some hide and seek

From cotton picking to cherry picking, not very different
You're still a slave, your thinking range is fairly rigid

So in the system we coexist in you act the hardest
With the pretence that your life is founded on fact regardless

Whatever though, too young and wild to be the saviour
So c'est la vie, get apathy, shout out Isaiah

Ironically I spit that Passion of Christ
While all you niggas busy rapping bout some fashion advice

[Hook]

Verse 3
So you heard the narrations, what if I'm not Midas
Well damn, I don't believe that in the slightest
I wanna chill, wine and dine with the finest
But still pray that these riches never define us

And that is the tough stuff, your magic is summed up
You're tryna be an artist but the market is corrupt
You're looking for headway, the fuck is a come-up
You gotta adjust, hit the club with enough plugs

They play and listen, somethings missing "Nigga write a banger"
Nod your head, "Awesome then", try and hide the anger

This is how my pen works, nigga check the mind state
Thought I loved rap, now it's like a bad blind date

Wrote this, so quote this, losing my focus
Gone with the wind, time is no longer noticed

I know I got it, I gotta speak
I can't do much else nigga cos honestly, yo honestly...



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Get a free Bible for your phone, tablet, and computer. bible.com

@zade, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60209.45
ETH 3212.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43