Hard Work (Instrumental)

in #dsound6 years ago


I'm trying to get out my comfort zone and learn some new techniques. Today I decided to practice swinging my drums so that they're slightly off the normal rhythm. It's a technique pioneered by funk drummers and later incorporated into hip hop by producers like J Dilla, who is widely considered the master of unconventional drum rhythms. Obviously Rome wasn't built in a day, so I have a long way to go before I can do it well or do it with less effort, but here is my first attempt at playing drums with the Dilla swing. The sample I'm drumming over comes from "Hard Work" by John Handy, who is the guy in the cover photo.



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50