Priscilla Hernandez - Through the Long Way: An original song that represents my philosophy as an artist

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


One of the original songs of my album THE UNDERLIVING (theunderliving.com) A song about going through the long way, no shortcuts are safe My philosophy as an artist too

Click above to listen while you read the article.
You can also listen from DSOUND


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

You can also play the song here while you read

Through the long way is one of the most popular songs from my second album The Underliving and maybe one of the most popular in it. There are several motifs in the lyrics that repeat through the album and even in later songs. Unfurl, go through the longway, no shortcuts are safe. The song reflects very much my philosophy in life and as an artist... Be true to yourself

No shortcuts are safe

My path as an artist has been honest to my work. When I started professionally I had several offers that were against the integrity of my work. I have learned to say "no" for the sake of it, I have learned to trust my instincts and do my way. My music is neither mainstream nor a popular genre but it has found its niche and its following. I've never taken the quick shortcut, I have slowly built it up with hope, dreams, and I'm still standing with my dream leading me me forward... That philosophy applies in life, almost in every field... you must travel your own path, you must take how lont it´s needed so it is "yours". Do not feel ashamed if you stall, if you stop, just keep going... Remember shorcuts could trick you and lead you somewhere else you didn't want to go.

Unfurl

The song repeats this world like a mantra. You have to spread your invisible wings, you have to spread your arms, bloom like a flower, unfurl your petals... become what you are meant to be. It is a song about self-fulfillment and how to nurture it.

Priscilla Hernandez Aralar - by Priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg
Above: An unfurling rose was used as promotional pictures for this song.

Through the Long Way Lyrics / Poem

First the cradle
Then the grave
As sure as the souls just flow
From birth to the death
Denial is poison growing jaded
Their truth is a lie in disguise
A tainted future
Darkened, blurred like
Fallen suns through stained glass
But all through the long way
You can escape
A greater truth
Is waiting there
Oh this knot´s so tight
I can´t scarcely breath
The weight of sorrow
is clouding over me
Release your hold on me
But then I cry and scream
When no one hears
Some thoughts just lie too deep
My words are lost and scattered
In wild winds
Show me!
Show me just a fleeting glance of light
Let me leave all things behind
Guide me
There is nothing left for me to stay
Lead me just one step ahead
All through the long way
All through the long way
The greatest truth
No shortcut is safe
But there´s a path that only few can see
A wondrous Otherworld of secrecy
Show me and unleash that
Flaming and fierce light
Now unfolding from inside
And save me! Oh save me
Just before my reckless
heart may rend
Lead me just one step ahead
And unfurl!
Don't be sad
Unfurl! and don't be sad
Unfurl...
And live through the long way!
Live through the long way!

Credits

© Priscilla Hernandez. All Rights Reserved.
Music and Lyrics by Priscilla Hernandez
Voice, backing vocals, low whistle, synths, hammered dulcimer: Priscilla Hernandez @yidneth
Piano, percussion, mixing and mastering by Héctor Corcín @hedac
Cello: Svetlana Tovstukha

And remember...
Live through the long way, no shortcut is safe.

I made another song, called "Off the Lane", an eerie, dark, spectral lullaby to remind this motif in not such an uplifting way, so I hope to share that one soon in contrast to this one.

Priscilla Hernandez Aralar - by Priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com)-2.jpg

Thanks for supporting my music
Note: If you want to support me you can also buy this song from ITUNES or stream from SPOTIFY looking for "Priscilla Hernandez - Through the Long Way). It is only one out of the many songs in my second full EP The Underliving that you can buy both physical or digital from my official shop
You can also support me downloading this song from Bandcamp (name your price)
You can also listen to it here in DSOUND and I appreciate your upvotes/resteems/feedback if you like it.


Unfurl... Don´t be sad
Do not grieve...!
Become


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

This song is stunning! mystical, delicate and soothing, just like you Pricsilla! Thanks for the music.

These lyrics get so much power while being sung.

Lovely again madame..really lovely.. the extreme reach of your voice is spectacular!

Aww thanks so much :) I am really honoured you liked it!

Wow very professional production :D are u singer or producer of this song ?

Both, I'm the composer and the singer as well. I have also the help of my partner @hedac for the mixing and mastering, but I compose music, lyrics and arrangements. This was one of the songs of my second album The Underliving, my artist name is Priscilla Hernandez. Thank you!

You really do have a great voice. This might grow on me yet :-)
Thanks!

Just superb, melody, vocals, backing vocals and production my mind is flying you have a new follower ;D

Wow! These lyrics are awesome and your voice is just amazing. I like it... 😊

Thank you for the lovely compliment 💞

Damn. Those lyrics. Wow. Dsound wont work atm for me but i bet it sounds amazing.

I am just editing and included a soundcloud link just in case too and formatting the text a little. It's just the second time I use dsound, learning.

It works for me, I included now a soundcloud just in case people can´t listen, but it works for me fine. This is just my second Dsound but I think I did everything right... struggling editing the post but that's my fault, I did not know markdown was not admitted over there, just getting the gist of it

Beautiful voice and your photographs are magical! I love it. Keep it up!

Thanks for the lovely compliment :)

Wonderful song writing and a deeply beautiful delivery.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71