"Merry Go Round ~ I Can't Love You" [Blockchain Music Contest Round 1]

in #dsound5 years ago (edited)


Here is my entry into the 1st round of the Blockchain Music Contest!

The theme for this round is "Creepy, Dark & Scary".

This theme worked very well for me. My music is very mood inspired and as such I typically find myself making songs to coincide with the seasons and holidays and the feeling associated with them. Due to this, I had been working on a few different creepy beats in October that I finished up at the start of November.

I had 5 in the running to enter into this contest and I found it really hard to choose just one, so I ended up combining two songs into one. Hopefully, this doesn't disqualify me and if it does please consider just reviewing the second song in this that starts at 1:25 as that would be my top choice out of the two haha.

The first song "Merry Go Round" started with a recording that was labelled "kids playing at a playground". I thought that would be a good start for a creepy song if I put some other creepy layers on top of it. From there I added in an Organ which I applied some filters and put in reverse for the intro. It is once again used throughout the song sans the filters and reverse. There is the obligatory 808 with a nice slide for some added creepiness and flavour and some pretty simple percussion. I had some other odd percussion sounds in there originally but I found they took away from the song. Outside of that, there are a few different vocal chops in reverse and normal made to sound like ghouls, souls etc. In the second verse which you get to hear a bit of before it transitions into the second part, I brought in a Moog Lead that I thought had a pretty neat, creepy sound to it.

The second part "I Can't Love You" is a bit more upbeat and less creepy than the first part. I made this one with Jazz Cartier in mind, who is a Canadian artist who sounds most similar to Travis Scott.
This one almost reminds me of something that could be in Rocky Horror Picture Show or something of that nature as it has some creepy tones to it but also an upbeat swing. Much like the 1st part, this song utilizes a few different organ [if you couldn't already tell I love using Organ's in my beats haha] and vocal sounds throughout. There are a couple nice breakdowns that I see both Travis and Jazz use in their songs often enough which would work well with their more singing sides.

I made both of these songs in FL Studio which has been my DAW of choice since I started producing music almost 14 years ago!

Looking forward to listening to all of the different entries in this as Halloween is one of my favourite times of year!


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

Choon Backup: https://choon.co/tracks/0weejjkb6d2/merry-go-round--i-cant-love-you/

Sort:  

Sweet ingredients, interesting that you combined two songs too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86