AS THE WORLD TURNS: A DSOUND SPOKEN WORD POEM

in #dsound5 years ago (edited)


As the world turns,
I speak my sins to a liquored cup
and toss my tears to the sea.
I search for my bones with my toes
and I listen to the wind with my thoughts
as the moon revolves around my world
and like a siren, takes my drunken soul away.

As the world turns,
and my lips taste the first liquor of the night,
I long to claim you as mine and leave
marks on your skin that craft you to me.
I watch you dance to that accursed song,
letting it touch you all over your body.
You are far away, i know; your eyes are here
with me, drinking me in as the world turns.

As the world turns,
I pat down these cold empty sheets
so i know i miss your body still.
I watch each new day come with the sun,
my eyes deep inside the coffee cup,
my lips singing old scratchy songs
just before your knock comes and my world burns.

As the world turns,
my world crumbles to dust
and feathers flutter to the earth
as the songs of birds flit away with the wind
Sweeping the different parts that make me
into the cauldron that is the stomach of the world.
I miss you still and my silent scribbles
are the only words that you will hear me speak.

As the world turns,
I make my confessions to the fluffed up pillow
and let me prayers spiral with my marijuana smoke.
I scrub your name off my tongue with a toothbrush
and spit out the last seed of last night debauchery;
the feel of your skin, the taste of your lips,
the warmth of your hips, the rhythm of your breath.

As the world turns,
last night fades to the back of my mind
and this office becomes a celebrity cell again.
I count the change in my deflated pocket
and wonder if i could pay to see you again
and after sweating all over your blank bored face,
ask you who you'd be sleeping with when
you climb the pole and swing to those songs again.

warpedpoetic, 2019



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Hi @warpedpoetic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.129 which ranks you at #3396 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 159 places in the last three days (old rank 3555).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 243 contributions, your post is ranked at #123.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63148.13
ETH 3109.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51