Stretched On Your Grave Cover

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

shamrock-2398582_640.jpg


This is my first attempt at singing for the blockchain. It was somewhat of a dare from @clayboyn, who generously donated to the (Irish Music School) I belong to. I told him that I'd sing this song and post it if he donated...and he did. So I sang it and recorded it.

Then I asked my good friend, @stickchumpion if he'd help make it sound better. So with a little o' this and a little o' that, here we have it. Not sure I should continue with this recording and sharing of my voice thing, but I enjoy singing so I'll at least keep doing it while safely out of range of microphones. And maybe one day I'll get decent enough to share some songs with you all again.

Either way, a great big thank you to @clayboyn (for the donation) and @stickchumpion for his musical and technical contributions. And thanks to both of them for their patience. <3



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

You did an amazing job on this uni! Can we use it for the SteeMix?

Lol. I don't think it's amazing. I think it's sorta decent, but go ahead if you want!

Why is this not in rotation on MSP?

Haha, oh y'all are sweet.

I love the Irish songs! Please do more!

Thank you! Any requests?

I love the song, OH Danny Boy!

Ha! That is a common one that people request. It's got an interesting history too, as it's not really Irish but most people think it is. My grandfather liked that song a lot, as well, so it's always had sentimental value to me. Perhaps I'll record playing it on my flute. He requested I play that at his memorial service. <3

Awesome! I heard the song on time and I can not get it out of my head. I will be walking around and just start humming the song while I am doing something.

Hope you do more of these! This was so awesome! Very talented :) Upvoted!

Haha, thank you.

It is just so very beautiful, and you SHOULD continue sharing your lovely voice with the blockchain and the whole world! ♥♥♥ Please keep going.

Aww, you're very sweet. Thank you.

You have Kate Rusby and Sinéad (among others) for competition and it doesn't sound like an easy song to sing, but you did a fine job. Between you and me I'm not totally convinced the arrangement did you any favours, but as people have probably told you, you really have a voice. You should keep going - and sharing.

Haha, yes - comparing myself to Kate Rusby will never end well. We did the collaboration across continents via the internet so we were pretty limited. I think we would have been able to do a lot better with it if we were recording together in person. But thank you for the kind words and encouragement!

Alternatively, if only as an experiment, you could try starting with the vocal and building an atmosphere around it.

Kate sets a high bar, that's for sure - she can move with a single note.

That's such a sad song. We did Johnny I Hardly Knew Ye when I was in Chamber Singers. It would give me chills hearing the song even as we were performing it. So good. Personally, I can't get off the Van Morrisson. It's like he's in my soul. :)

Oh yeah, that's a good one, too. What's your fave Van Morrison song?

You know he's got so many good tunes. Into The Mystic always gets me.

Ah, classic. :D

I had to click on this when I saw it because I've always loved this song... and your performance of it is beautiful! You have a lovely voice and I wish you'd post more <3

Aww, you are too kind. Thank you. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88