The Power (and Profit) in Pushing Yourself Beyond Your Comfort Zone

in #dsound5 years ago


The Power (and Profit) in Pushing Yourself Beyond Your Comfort Zone

by Terry Brock for Steemit, DSound

Sometimes, you’ve just gotta’ grab yourself by the shoulder, look yourself in the eyes and make yourself do what you really don’t want to do. This is called discipline. It is where we separate those on merely want success and those who are willing to pay the price.

A while back I was in a situation where I was tired, worn out, and exhausted after traveling all day. It was one of those days you might have had where you get up early to catch a flight, change planes on your way to the destination, and eventually get to the hotel room hoping you can turn in early for the evening to be ready for tomorrow’s work.

Well, I was there. I had just checked into my hotel room and longed for a night’s rest. However, there was a letter from my client inviting me to a dinner which had not been discussed previously.

Ugh!

This was decision time. I could have made a valid excuse for not being there. However, I had something inside me nudging me that it would be good to be there. Perhaps it would help in the meetings the next day to interact better with the people. I could hear that Marine drill sergeant in my head yelling at me to go.

So, I forced myself to clean up, splashed cold water on my face to wake up more, and headed downstairs to the dinner. I kept thinking of that old saying that “Comfort does not equal greatness.”

Well, the dinner was very good. The food was especially delicious. The people were extraordinarily friendly and kind. The conversations at dinners were very intelligent, informative and inspiring. Yes, I was very glad I went. I made it a point to share ideas with them and they appreciated what I had to say.

Everything went well the next day with the client and he even made a comment how glad he was that I spent time with them. If I had “wimped out” and not gone to be with them that evening I would have missed out on a lot of benefits. I learned from very smart people about a topic that I don’t know much about which can benefit me. I learned about their culture and issues they are facing.

There are serious benefits in pushing yourself beyond the “ouch” of the moment. You gain new knowledge. You hone and craft your persistence. You get to know wonderful new people.

Staying in your comfort zone does not produce greatness. Of course, use wisdom and operate within safety, but push yourself beyond the “ouch” to gain more. My client was very happy that I was with them and will probably hire me again. Was attending the dinner the only reason? Probably not, but it helped with everything else.

The next time you get that urge to relax when you could push a little more and become more of the ideal self you want, go for the push! Let that marine drill sergeant in your head push you to achieve more. This is how we grow. You’ll be glad you did.

Let me know what you think. I look forward to hearing back from you.

Terry

Terry L. Brock, MBA, CSP, CPAE
Member, Professional Speaker Hall of Fame
Certified Speaking Professional
2018 Recipient of the National Speakers Association's Highest Award, The Cavett

Master of Ceremonies
Professional Video Coach

Syndicated Columnist with Business Journals (43 papers across USA, 11 million monthly page views)
https://www.bizjournals.com/bizjournals/bio/19251/TerryBrock

See some wonderful (!) videos on my YouTube Channel!
https://www.youtube.com/user/TerryLBrock/videos

My TEDxBocaRaton presentation.

Former Editor-in-Chief for AT&T's Networking Exchange Blog
Former Chief Enterprise Blogger for Skype

www.TerryBrock.com, [email protected]
+1-407-363-0505
@TerryBrock - Twitter
@terrybrock - Steemit

www.facebook.com/SpeakerTerryBrock
http://www.linkedin.com/in/marketerterrybrock


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

I grabbed myself by the shoulder and tried to look myself in the eye.
The result was a strained back.
Next time I'll just look in a mirror.

All kidding aside, you offer good solid advise.
There's no getting around an uncomfortable fact,
to get things done,
you have to work.
😃

Yes, indeed, @tombalistreri. You are right. Ultimately it takes work to get the job done.

Hope your back and eyes heal up just right after your little exercise! :-) Thanx for the chuckle. I look forward to seeing you again.

Terry

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85