Another Woman: Poem

in #dsound7 years ago (edited)



short poem. copyright Teneice Durrant The Goldilocks Complex (2006) image pixabay.com

Another Woman

After our work of shuffling
between tables and kitchen, fetching
and smiling and nodding, we go out
for drinks, sit in a barely lit bar
and you dare me to smoke
your cigarette, tease
me because, I confess, I’ve never
inhaled. I take the dare because
we are drunk and your pale eyes, ringed
with mascara hold some mystery.
but instead of putting
the Marlboro to my lips, it is your own
pink mouth pushing wet smoke
past my tongue, your fingertips pressing
the back of my neck
so I can’t pull away. My lungs catch
the cloud you give me
and I cough, hard, as if breathing
for the first time.


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

after reading this i saw thousands empty room and in each one thr she is standing like a ghost.
i would be lying if i said i didnt find this beautiful, nothing is quite as stunning as a beautiful lady with a cig, looking like a man who ha spent his life beating demons in the under world

Lovely words. Thank you!

Congratulations @teneiced! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great spoken piece, thank you :)

This is great full of startling imagery like 'your own pink mouth pushing wet smoke past my tongue.' It reminds me of Sylvia Plath.

Smokers enjoy their habit because it stimulates the flow of "feel good" chemicals in the brain, according to a new study involving just a handful of test subjects.Screenshot_1.png

Two lover-bird, but why end the description at the point of climax. Just when my imagination start running wild, you know the drift, the poet pause too soon. Would have enjoy the anticipated erotic ending.

Perhaps that is your poem to write, as im quite happy with what’s left unsaid.

Pretty good.
I also work in the music field and I am the founder and leader of a music project called Music Without Borders
https://www.facebook.com/groups/1934465290143817/
https://www.instagram.com/mwbmusicwithoutborders/?r=sun1jGkfzmxTiR8.jpg

beautiful picture!

the song you @teneiced sounds very good I hope you can share the experience for me because you are the inspiration for me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68425.65
ETH 2646.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68