The DSound Waves Library 37: Hey You (Pink Floyd cover Swoop Style)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


This one was a bit of an experiment. I wanted to reinterpret a Pink Floyd song and see what I could do with it. I chose "Hey You", I figured out the key and made a backing track for my cell phone quality vocals. I'm not that great of a singer but I'm trying to improve. Your feedback is mucho appreciated :)

Starts off with some simple rhythm and then an awesome bassline hits the track with my basic vocals.

Some distant keys add to the vibe and then some rhodes keys kick in and add some more goodness to the mix.

Hope you enjoy. Infinite Lovewaves.



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Hey You


Hey you, out there in the cold
Getting lonely, getting old
Can you feel me?

Hey you, standing in the aisles
With itchy feet and fading smiles
Can you feel me?

Hey you, don't help them to bury the light
Don't give in without a fight

Hey you out there on your own
Sitting naked by the phone
Would you touch me?

Hey you with you ear against the wall
Waiting for someone to call out
Would you touch me?

Hey you, would you help me to carry the stone?
Open your heart, I'm coming home

But it was only fantasy
The wall was too high, as you can see
No matter how he tried he could not break free
And the worms ate into his brain
And the worms ate into his brain

Hey you, out there on the road
Always doing what you're told
Can you help me?

Hey you, out there beyond the wall
Breaking bottles in the hall
Can you help me?

Hey you

Sort:  

Well, that’s was amazing... you don’t give yourself enough credit. I can’t even say it’s a good cover, because you totally made this your own... brilliant my friend ❤️

Hey, I really appreciate it. I'm still analyzing and finding the flaws haha but sometimes you gotta just go with it. Much Love :)

brilliant cover man, your voice is perfect, you caught the mood perfect too

Thanks man, I appreciate it :)

That's beautiful!! I love your voice and the way you use it. Hey you is such a great song and I was a bit afraid to click play..but you got me direct after your vocals come in. Keep on experimenting ! Everything just comes out great what you are doing.

Nice, I'm glad you liked it. It's a total different take on the song. Thanks for the support.

I really love a good cover, you did a top job here mate! Your vocals are on point also. Well done!

Hey thanks @thomasrobertgent I really appreciate it. It feels a bit strange still to sing and post haha but I value the encouragement mate :)

I know what you mean about the whole singing thing, you’ll get used to it 😁 seriously though good job on the Floyd cover

Dude you got me tingling all over. Your voice is hawt. <3

Hey thanks @amymya, your tingles are very encouraging. Here have some chocolate.

I was about to say you have the choco but then i opened my eyes...

Well, lets be somewhat healthy and share choco covered strawberries <3

Two words:
HAWT and also hawwwt.
I love your voice so much. It reminds me of Bono. I know he's a freak and I'd never have tea with him, but I would have tea with you anyday, especially if you would sing to me while I drank it. ♥ Love your work, and this beautiful cover. ♥

yeah... what she said too. except i dont think you sound like bono but i do like tea!

Hey @paintingangels, thank you, it means alot. I adore your voice and music and I would have fractal tea with you anytime and we'd sing about it together :)

This is such an awesome version!
Really creative and vibing... The beat. The pads. the Vox.
Very tasty indeed!

Hey mate, this means alot coming from you. You're an excellent musician and to have positive feedback from you is great :)

can't praise this one enough! great trippy-jazzy vibe, greatly sung - you're getting into Tricky territory :) MUCH LOVE!

Dude....tricky and massive attack are my musical gods haha. Thanks for this awesome comment. I can die happy now lol.

Best pink floyd cover i've heard seriously :)

Aww haha thanks for the love, saw this gif and thought of you :)

you have a mc dreamy voice swoop. i dont understand why you arent famous.

Haha thanks, maybe because I've only been doing this for 7 months? My next step is to start playing live and maybe a Steemit US tour lol, one can dream.