BLUE SKIES (Irving Berlin cover)

in #dsound5 years ago


“Blue Skies” was composed by great Irving Berlin in 1926. It made its debut in the Rodgers & Hart musical Betsy.
Betsy had only 39 performances. However, “Blue Skies” became an immediate success and started living a life ot its own. Audiences on opening night demanded 24 encored of the piece from Baker. That same year, “Blue Skies” made its film debut as one of the first songs of The Jazz Singer, starring Al Jolson. Indeed, “Blue Skies” would be included in many films, as well as provide the title for a 1946 musical, starring Bing Crosby and Fred Astaire.
Benny Goodman and His Orchestra recorded a highlight Swing Era version of this song in 1935. “Blue Skies” has been re-interpreted by numerous artists, including Artie Shaw, Frank Sinatra, Caetano Veloso, and Robert Glasper. It has also crossed genres: Willie Nelson scored a country hit with it in 1978. Nelson`s version vas the one that ispired me to record this song and so I did.
Let me know if you like it.

a link for iOS users:
https://shemzee.bandcamp.com/track/blue-skies-3

Lyrics
Blue skies smiling at me,
Nothing but blue skies do I see.
Blue birds singing a song,
Nothing but blue birds all day long.
Never saw the sun shining so bright.
Never saw things go oh so right.
Noticing the days hurrying by.
When you're in love, my my how they fly.
Blue days, all of them gone.
Nothing but blue skies from now on.
Blue skies smiling at me.
Nothing but blue skies do I see.
Blue bird singing a song.
Nothing but blue birds all day long.
Never saw the sun shining so bright.
Never saw things go oh so right.
Dig those days hurrying by.
When you're in love, my my how they fly.
Blue days, all of them gone.
Nothing but blue skies from now on.
Nothing but blue skies from now on.



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Congratulations
Your music have been featured in the Artzone Music Curation list
Keep making great sounds

Courtesy: @julietisrael

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66