Temnaya noch. Russian war song from 1943

in #dsound5 years ago (edited)


a soundcloud link:
https://soundcloud.com/shem-zee/bereg-temnaya-noch

Dark Night (Тёмная ночь) is a famous Russian song associated with World War II. It was originally performed by actor Mark Bernes in the 1943 war film Two Soldiers.
The song was composed by Nikita Bogoslovsky, with lyrics by Vladimir Agatov.

Dark Is the Night has been described as "a gentle lyrical song imbued with a feeling of homesickness and expressing devotion to one's beloved" which contrasted sharply with the prevalent type of war song, which was either a field marching song or a civil patriotic one.

We /me & Yavor/ did our best to find an acoustic sound close to that in the Soviet film from 1943 while recording this one. I didn`t want a pop tune neither a military march.
:et me know if you like what we did.

Original lyrics:

Темная ночь только пули свистят по степи
Только ветер гудит в проводах тускло звезды мерцают
В темную ночь ты любимая знаю не спишь
И у детской кроватки тайком ты слезу утираешь
Как я люблю глубину твоих ласковых глаз
Как я хочу к ним прижаться сейчас губами
Темная ночь разделяет любимая нас
И тревожная черная степь пролегла между нами
Верю в тебя в дорогую подругу мою
Эта вера от пули меня темной ночью хранила
Радостно мне я спокоен в смертельном бою
Знаю встретишь с любовью меня что б со мной ни случилось
Смерть не страшна с ней не раз мы встречались в степи
Вот и теперь надо мною она кружится
Ты меня ждешь и у детской кроватки не спишь
И поэтому знаю со мной ничего не случится

English translation:

Dark night, only bullets are whistling in the steppe,
Only the wind is wailing through the telephone wires, stars are faintly flickering ...
In the dark night, my love, I know you `re not sleeping,
And, near a child's crib, you secretly wipe away a tear.

How I love the depths of your gentle eyes,
How I long to press my lips to them!
This dark night separates us, my love,
And the dark, troubled steppe has come to lie between us.

I have faith in you, in you, my sweetheart.
That faith has shielded me from bullets in this dark night ...
I am glad, I am calm in deadly battle:
I know you will meet me with love, no matter what happens.

Death is not terrible, we've met with it more than once in the steppe ...
And here it looms over me once again,
You await my return, sitting sleepless near a cradle,
And so I know that nothing will happen to me!


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.23
ETH 2545.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67