Hiding Verses Podcast: The Anxiety Problem

in #dsound7 years ago (edited)


I'm having a tough day. I'm hoping I can hold it together. I teach tonight--a group of wonderful students I enjoy writing with, but I am not okay. It all started this morning with a startle response. Duck and cover is part of PTSD for me, even for silly things like a kid saying "boo." I'm struggling mightily, and I'm inviting you into my closet with me. Truly, what I don't want is to be alone.

I look forward to your answers to my questions.

Image made with WordSwag



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

For me, because my anxiety isn't usually ptsd based, the most important thing is recognizing what's happening. Am I getting sick? Am I just super tired? Nope. It's an anxiety attack. In the past, that would often take hours which often meant I would get sick, because my system was spending so much energy fighting a non existent physical threat.

Now, I can usually recognize it fairly quickly, which means is delving time. What was the trigger? What else is happening to make me vulnerable to it? What can I do to alleviate that?

I am not a fan of Scientology, but for me, when it anxiety attacks, their motto of "the way out is the way through" hits the nail on the head.

As usual, I want to thank you for your openness and eloquence, and send you much love and my friendship and support.

This is fantastic advice. I'm also not a fan of Scientology, but that quote makes all the sense to me. Sometimes I close my eyes and imagine I'm diving into the anxiety I look around to see if I can "visually" locate my trigger. Sometimes there are no roots. A wire is just tripped. Or perhaps the root lay in a dream. I don't know. But when I can find that trigger, I do move through it. Or I move into my closet. ;)

Thank you so much for your support, love and friendship. You make Steemit the best.

No, no. It is you who makes Steemit the best.

This argument could go on for years.

You are definitely not alone <3.

One thought I had as you were talking about doing your best and being your best for your kids (oh boy do I get that!) is a mantra I have for myself. "I do my best every day, it's okay that it's not very good sometimes."

That's wisdom right there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55255.10
ETH 2314.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33