Scuzzy Ruckus - Not Yourz | Beat Battle League Week 12

in #dsound7 years ago (edited)



The theme for Beat Battle League Week 12 is "California Living".

For this challenge, I sampled Baby Huey's 1971 cover of The Mamas & the Papas' 1965 "California Dreamin'". "California Dreamin'" expresses the narrator's longing for the warmth of Los Angeles during a cold winter in New York City. The influences of New York culture is more dominant in my life that if I lived in California, my etiquette and thought process would differ from Californian natives. Having said that, if I had to choose between New York and California, I would choose California without hesitation. This instrumental exemplifies the juxtaposition of Scuzzy living in California.

The title is a twist of Wu-Tang Clan's "It's Yourz".

Note: The photograph of the cover was taken 2014 in Los Angeles during my road trip through the states.

Sort:  

dope sound! is this flute a sampe or is it a vsti? anyway if it's a sample I need it maybe for some production I'm stuck on xD. The atmophere here the jazzy feel it has give this tune a nice character.. only a little of a pity for it to be this short.. but still a tune!!!

Thanks for checking it brother! I appreciate your review. Everything, including the flute, is sampled from "California Dreamin'" by Baby Huey. Only the drums are from another source. For additional flute samples, I recommend Herbie Mann, James Moody, Roland Kirk, Yusef Lateef, and Bobbi Humphrey. Word of caution, you might just end up zoning out to the music instead.

Dayummmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

This beat is soooo dope. And that flute just takes it to another level.

And your choice of samples holy smokes what classics and you intertwine them all together so nicely. That California Dreamin resonates with me right now as I am here in the cold waiting for the warm of Cali to come here in the near future.

Appreciate you creating this art. So awesome having you in the community.

Namaste

I appreciate you listening as always @chiefmappster.

My man (Denzel Washington voice) haha

Big props on this one @scuzzy this beat is Hard.

I appreciate you listening @authenticbeatz. I'm inspired by all of you guys.

@scuzzy is always bringing the Ruckus! I could tell the sample from the get, fresh flip

Very cool, California dreaming is one of my all time favourites and you put a modern and interesting twist on it, great!

Thanks for having a listen! Just experimenting with putting together a collage of sounds.

Dope sound overall and choice of instruments. Love the hits and the flute doing the do, and agree with seveaux, kinda short but still a tune. At least it made me hit the replay. (;

Both you guys are right. It is short, but you commented on the reason -- To hit the replay. Thanks for your comments bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63721.78
ETH 3503.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54