Petra Jordan - Lessons To Be Human (Album version - "The Other Side" (2011))

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Most songs from my debut album "The Other Side" reflect the emotional struggle I was going through at the time. I had experienced a painful break up and I was facing the pain created by my ego's attachment to how things should be, to what I believed was supposed to have happened rather than what actually happened. I didn't want to feel anger and hatred and envy and bitterness when I thought of my ex, but the truth is, I did. And all those feelings were rooted in my beliefs (as they always are).

It took me 6,5 years of feeling bitter, scared to open up to love, distrustful of men and relationships... until I fell back into his arms and melted the anger in my heart with forgiveness. As I've learned, forgiveness has nothing to do with condoning something that we believe to be wrong or unjust. It's simply a recognition that everyone does their best from wherever they are in the moment. Years later, I was able to reflect on my behavior from a perspective that I had not seen back then.

Based on my current spiritual understanding, I no longer believe that anyone can hurt me. Pain comes from unfulfilled expectations, from arguing with or resisting what is. And managing my expectations, resistance to or acceptance of what is is my job. And as a result, hurting myself by can only be my job. I will be sharing more musings on this in the near future and how it is affecting my songwriting. So stay tuned ~~~ and enjoy!

LESSONS TO BE HUMAN

Bitterness is the taste
That settles in my mouth
When I think of you
Bitter are all the people
Walking angry with their bear dreams
Through their blues

It’s this fight I face
Between my ego and myself
It’s the fight we loose
When pride’s the one we choose

|: We all have to learn our lessons to be human :|
|: We all have to learn our lessons to be human :|
We all gotta fall, we all gotta fall
But we can get up

When you’ve lied so many times
You started believing your own lies
It’s nothing but your own demise
‘Cause there’s no way around
What you left behind
Bleeding but alive

Hello new dawning
It’s time to move on
You’ve been calling
For so long

Wake up to another morning
Another life
And I’m learning
Where I went wrong

It’s this fight I face
Between my ego and myself
It’s the fight we loose
When pride’s the one we choose

|: We all have to learn our lessons to be human :|
|: We all have to learn our lessons to be human :|
We all gotta fall, we all gotta fall
But we can get up

LINKS

Official Website: petrajordanmusic.com
Facebook: facebook.com/PetraJordanMusic
Twitter: twitter.com/petrajordan1
Instagram: instagram.com/petrajordan
Youtube: youtube.com/petrajordanmusic
Steemit: steemit.com/@petrajordan



► Listen on DSound

Sort:  

You have a great voice @petrajordan. First time hearing your music, will definitely continue to listen.

Wow! WOW! WOW! This is so good. Where hava you been all my life ;) Seriously. You have an amazing voice and tone. And the song is amazing and beautiful. You have a new fan in me.

Ha ha, thank you, @kahsay! Well, sometimes it takes a while before one finds what they're looking for... ;)

very lovely sentiment and beautiful vocal performance, this is a fine track.

Thank you, @kryptoe! Glad you like :)

@petrajordan, I listen your music in Youtube.
Your music is amazing and sound system is awesome.
Thanks for give us those outstanding music.

Thank you, @prince121! I appreciate your compliments 🙏

Welcome, @petrajordan hopefully you give us more music video in future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57296.76
ETH 3055.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32