Fly Away Blue (original song - acoustic)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

Well don't we all just want to fly away sometimes? And sometimes we wanna stay right where we are and watch the blue fly away. Sometimes you just wanna go to a bar and disappear.

If I could do a tally of most common words in my songs I would say "fly" is right up at the top, along with "moon" and "stars" and "broken" and "dream." My most recent song even being named "Fly." But anyway. Have a seat and I'll sing you this song.

If you drink something while you listen it will probably sound better. Alcohol might even make it sound the best because you forget who you're listening to and maybe I'm somebody who might make you feel happy for a minute even though I'm talking about the blue part of life.

But I don't drink. So I'm stuck here listening to myself and I know it's myself. But that's okay too. I'm pretty good company if the truth be told.

This song is largely about people who go to bars and drink to make themselves feel better, or maybe they just sit there and absorb the sorrows of other people in some strange way that make their own self feel better. Do you ever do that? I do that sometimes.

It's a bizarre kind of comfort. Peace in the madness. This song is also about hope. Someday that damned old Blue is going to go far, far away. Just wait.


Fly Away Blue

Dripping with anger I walk out of the haze
into the bar where the wild folks play
nobody cries much in here anymore
but you can feel the old ghosts
flying through that front door

As the lightning burns me
I feel myself fall
back to the place where
the whippoorwills call

The sweet, sweet angels,
they dance all night long
and nothing there ever ever goes wrong

Fly away, Blue.
Can you hear me?
I don't want you.

Fly away, Blue.
Can you hear me?
I don't want you.
I don't want you.

A girl sings a song
as she hugs her guitar
It's brown and deep yellow
and too big for her arms.

She sings like a preacher
She dares us to think
She says we dont need
all these pretty old things.

She says that we're broken
by all of our greed
and a few bad apples
have made us all bleed

The saints and the sinners,
they dream the same dream.
It's a shame we don't reach out
to get what we need

Fly away, Blue
Can you hear me?
I don't want you.

Fly away, Blue
Can you hear me?
I don't want you.

As the lightning burns me
I feel myself fall
Back to the place where
The whippoorwills call

The sweet sweet angels
They dance all night long
and nothing there ever goes wrong

Repeat the chorus for too many times.
This song is over 4 minutes long.
Ha ha.
I just sometimes can't stop.


Words and music ©2018 @paintingangels (s. matthews)

If dsound won't play, you can play right here:

Or here:
https://www.reverbnation.com/serenamatthews/song/6028822-fly-away-blue


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

D sound actually played for me this time! :-)
You know I love your music and your voice. This is like a happy sad song.
Playing with harmonies on this song could be really interesting, but I have to decide which one of your songs I should molest first... :-)

LOL AMBER! That last sentence made me laugh so hard!

Top quality audio, great for any place that needs a soothing voice to heal the broken and hurt ♥

Thanks a lot @mdsolehinsabtu, I appreciate the kind words:)

Awwwww girl!! Thank you! You are! I'm so excited to have crossed paths with you! Can't wait to hear you sing some more!

Wonderful song Serena! It fits my situation right now where I'm just waiting for the Blue to fly away...

Thanks, Tom! I hope your Blue flies away forever and ever ♥ Hugs!!

This is so divine. Got this comforting sadness; love your songs always.

Thank you @jazzhero, so kind of you to say. ♥ Thank you for resteeming!

Internet is being stupid because it just let me listen to the first half of the song. I loved it so much I started harming the chorus. You really have such a soulful voice. Gorgeous.

Sometimes that happens with dsound, (and dtube) not sure why... I always try to add a second link to another site just in case that exact thing happens to someone.. so at the very bottom you'll see one to reverbnation..

Would LOVE to hear you harmonize with me! YOUR voice is outright blissful. ♥ Thanks Andrea for listening! ♥

@paintingangels @p4ragon should totally do harmonies... By the way I hope your throat is doing better, :) hugs! ohhh plotting those harmonize a steemian again :) XD

Still not able to sing...😢 had a sudden nosebleed twice today...
I'm so done with this infection!!
facepalm.gif

The other link was doing nothing either... so hubby went to our provider today and we're getting faster internet.
As soon as I can sing again I'll be all over that song. 😉

Yay! More internet!!!!! I added a soundcloud link now too.. I'd just sing it outright to you if I could .. lol.

I just listened to the whole thing. I totally love it. 💛

Your voice is so unique and soulful :), I tried before but I can't play it from dsound... so I'm glad I got the alt link.

Aww thanks, Pris! ♥I think in some countries dsound works and others it just can't play a lot of the times. Some days it works well for me and others just won't play.

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Amberyooper from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Thank you @amberyooper! You are so sweet doing that for me!

I love your voice @paintingangels <3

Thank you so much @d-vine! ❤️

I thoroughly enjoyed your song, and voice and guitar playing, thank you for sharing it with us. Music like stories so much to read, so much to hear and not enough time in the day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95