MindsEye - The Louis Van Gaal Biscuit [Beat Battle League | S2:R7: Electronic Dance Music]

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

Hello all! This is my entry for the Beat Battle League | S2:R7: Electronic Dance Music.

For this round, I've decided to submit a track I created a little while ago. It was inspired by Dutch soccer coach Louis van Gaal (I'm also originally a Dutchie), in particular his use of the English language. When he speaks English he basically just translates things literally from Dutch, resulting in at times hilarious monologues. I've sampled some of his interviews, and created an uptempo electronic track around it. The track includes the quote 'That's another biscuit', where Louis literally translates the Dutch saying 'Dat is andere koek', meaning something along the lines of 'that's something completely different'.

louis.JPG

@dsound
► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Listen on IndieSound

I hope you guys enjoy the track!
Many thanks to the host and the judges, @chiefmappster, @beatseb, @seveaux, and @derekmiller!

ww.png

Follow___.png
.

Sort:  

dit is zo slecht dat het goed is :'D

Haha, daar ging ik ook precies voor!

Those samples of the coach are a laugh! Cool beats to go with them! I like that sweeping synth, it gives a big sound!

Thanks @onemedia! Good to hear you dig the track. There's plenty more sample material of his that I could use...it's almost endless!

That coach reminds me of the American baseball coach, Yogi Berra, who had made similar famous quotes, simultaneously absurdly stupid yet paradoxically profoundly sublime, such as "It isn't over until it's over." "Predictions are very difficult, especially when trying to predict the future." "When you come to a fork in the road, take it." "It's like déjà vu all over again." "No one goes there anymore, it's too crowded."

Haha, sounds like a guy who deserves his own song! I don't know him, but it sounds like it's worth reading up on him a little bit...

A little bit, perhaps. If you love sports perhaps his quotes and his biography are a worthwhile read. I myself have yet to figure if he had something to say, or just happened to say ...

There are definitely quite a few of those types in sports, the 'just happened to say' ones... Sometimes it's better just to stick to the sports and skip the talking.. ;p

I couldn't agree more! Especially when they try to interview American Football players ... trying to extract something intelligent from someone who's made a career of getting hit in the head ... lost cause! :-D

Haha very true...the same is often the case for soccer players, and they don't even get in the head that often! ;p

Your synths mirror the coach's hilarious statements perfectly. Very well done dude <3
Just in time for the fifa world mania too ;)

Haha yes I'm looking forward to the FIFA mania already! Thanks @paradigmprospect, great to hear you dig it :)

Had it stuck in my head for days after listening, popping up out of nowhere when cooking and riding my bike. ahahaha. You have a thing for catchy tracks, fuckin coach stuck in my head ahahaha

Haha that's awesome! Getting my tracks to be stuck in people's heads is what I do it for! ;) I wish I could share this with Louis (the coach), I feel like he would be a fan of the track too ;p

I don't have his number!

Send a cd to his office, best chance to make the evening news with your track once one of his soccer players catches hold of the track ahahaha.

Haha I like that approach! Shame he isn't coaching any team at the moment, may have to wait it out for a bit...

haha this is cool! funny and good sounding!

Hehe thanks man! Was good fun creating the track...

I can see...erhm I mean hear that :D

Ayyyyyyyyyy this is hilarious :)

"Biscuits. biscuits. Another Biscuits" hahahahahahaha yesssssssss.

What an unique entry that had my dying laughing o weeeeeeeeeeee.

So cool how you integrate those vocal clips with that EDM-esque beat.

You had me laughing and dancing at the same time. What a skill.

Those synths come in so awesome, love how you used those.

Appreciate you creating this good vibed entry.

Haha man so great to read that everyone seems to enjoy the track! Awesome to hear that the instrumental fits so well with the vocal samples, I did think myself too that they work pretty well together. And yeah...we don't always have to be so serious right? ;) I can tell you, it's a lot of fun creating a track like this. I'd love to make one with Trump samples...would just be hard to decide which bits to use because there are so many! ;p

Rightttttt fits so well and you are so right always have to make time for laughter :) I am sure that will strike a chord with the audience that is for sure.

I love this tune man pretty cool to vibe to

Thanks @polarbeats, much appreciated!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Mindseye from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85