Mini Motivations #112 - Day 1 of Dsound - What's up with all these 21 days?

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Hi, this is Maverick. Yeah, so believe it or not, this is actually not my first. My second take. I'll let you know what actually fucked up in the first one, but you must really be surprised. Like why is Maverick not writing? Isn't he like the guy who had, who writes every day, blah blah, blah.

Ah.... Yes for many motivations for the past 111 days, which you just believe it? I've been writing, so I decided that I should say I get bored and I just decided to do something different for today. So I had been thinking about podcasts for a couple of, a couple of years actually, and I am an avid consumer of it. I've been interviewed on a couple of radio stations before and I always love the medium of podcasts because you can listen to it in the background as you're doing certain things.

You can't actually read a Steemit posts where you are driving. But if you can do, let me know how you manage to do it. :) But I think listening to a podcast, a, it's a different kind of experience. So I decided for Mini Motivations for the next 21 days, I just wanted to see if I can do, instead of writing 300 to 400 words a day on those mornings journals, I would like to see whether I can do it on the podcast instead. So how this Mini Motivation started. It was on Monday, 15th of January. I just decided to, you know what, let's just go on an experiment. I always love experiments and experiment with myself. In the morning when I wake up I will spend 21 minutes to actually write a post, basically the early, early morning there, half an hour and then for the next 21 minutes - I must be able to finish the post in 21 minutes.

So, which means that is somewhere between 300 to 500 words. I usually have had some quotes or some topics in mind already that I actually kind of like generated once a week, usually on a Sunday. So I don't usually spend a lot time thinking what I want to write about, the morning or wake up the moment they wake up, just put on my glasses and start to type a lot on my laptop and then decided to move on to my phone while I'm still on bed and get everything done and just get everything posted out. So at the end of 21 days I asked myself where under continue, I kind of enjoyed the process. And this is on top of the evening long posts along the format posts that I would do for @sndbox because I'm fortunate enough to be one of their members.

So usually for the longer post, yes. Obviously I can't finish within 21 minutes because it is way longer than that. So the longer posts are usually between a 1,500 words to up to 2500 at a time. So, uh, every, the one is roughly about 800 words. So those I wiwouldll require easily maybe about 45 minutes to finish up posts. So that is something different that I only doing the evening, but in the mornings are the Mini Motivations. So when after doing it for 21 days, I decided to, you know, continue on to see how it goes. And lo and behold, I actually hit a hundred 111 yesterday and I thought, well, 111 is a nice number to maybe shift gears, to see something else. So I had actually interviewed and actually asked a residential, a podcast on d sound, which is @branlee87. I know him along with @aaronmcheong or Mastermind had been doing vlogs and podcasts for awhile and when I ask them what the process is like, so I asked, @bradlee87. I think he has mastered in a way talking to the camera, talking to the mic, like what I'm doing with you right now.

And I thought, OK, he seems to make it easier. Let me just go and dig up some equipment from my business partner or friend, @jikey, to see what I can do so. Also for the next 21 days, part of this experiment is also to break down the process or recording podcasts because I do realize that not all Steemians can write so easily. Maybe your talent lies elsewhere and if I can break down the process of podcasts and this is me doing it as a newbie which mans I'm actually learning from Level Xero testing different equipments, testing on different software testing, different hardwares, even settings and whatnot. And I'll be recording down what I learned and most probal will make more elaborated posts on how to basically jump start your career on @dsound. And so some people actually asked me why 21 days.

So for one, a 21 day has always been a good timeframe for it to test a particular habit. If I were to, well, if any car owners who actually let me test drive the cars for 21 days, I'll be able to decide whether I want to buy their car or maybe steal theirs. :) Uh, and any habit that I try to adopt into my life. I will actually do for 21 days as well. But that doesn't mean that all habits get adopted after 21 days because sometimes I just fucking hated that thing so much that just is like enough to last for my entire life. But like this morning journals that I had been trying to do a since 15th of January, that is something that I've been start with me. So I'm actually quite happy about it until maybe 90 odd days where I, uh, I still enjoy the morning writing, but I just want to explore different mediums.

So that's where this podcast came in and I decided to try this for 21 days and at the end of 21 days I will try videos for 21 days and video is something I'm more interested in because as you know in TeamMalaysia - thanks to the great support of community - we have a Stemi bootcamps are steaming master classes, which are live classes where I, uh, because I've been a content marketer for a couple of years as a trainer as well. So I try to break down the process, how Steemians dcan create contents and generate ideas a lot easier. So that turned out to be a one day boot camp that we created. We usually do it on the weekend and it's always a non-profit. We always donate it to the organizers' charity of choice and a lot of times I wish that, for the Steemians that outside Malaysia, Asean countries that they will be able to join in as well.

So a live streaming would be hard. So I thought if I can somehow break down those processes on how-to guides or even tutorials and put it as short video clips, make it modular as modular as I can, then it will be great. But when I look at the equipment that's necessary to actually do a - OK, maybe because I'm also a perfectionist - but to look at the create a proper vlog is like "fuck man, that's a lot stuff!" Especially the editing part! So I think along as I'm experimenting with podcasts, I am also going to experiment on you know, just do trial and small test on videos as well. And because at the end of this 21 days I'm going to try out something different. And also break down the process for vlogging. So for podcasts, I don't really have anything in mind yet, although my girlfriend Debbie, @deborism had suggested that why not I do themes. And I realized that @branlee87 do that as well, so he has his Five Things Wednesday, or like Netflix Mondays or Films Fridays.

So you know, what if I fucking lazy I'll just steal his idea and just do the same shit over again, but I need to learn how to ramble on nonstop with a mic, like him. So that's basically me on this journey. Stay tune as I'll be telling you more about the software I'm using. Right now, I'm actually using Adobe Audition CC, which sadly, you need to pay for it because I have the subscription for because I use the other softwares. I know there's Audacity which is actually free, so I may try a recording on that and basically do a review or even a step-by-step guide on how to use it. Uh, this equipment I have, I don't specifically have a name for it, but I think I'll just add to the show notes at the particular mic that I'm using and I'm also quite looking forward to do some interviews.

So some of you who may not know me, I've been, basically, doing community building for a couple of years and one of the greatest joys that I have is actually interviewing people and the way I do interviews always a very conversational style. So for example, if I can give you a metaphor would be this: Have you ever been to a café and you just do your own shit, right? And then this corner here your ear just picked up a very interesting conversation between two parties. They are like... they are talking so passionately. The excitement is, they're not necessarily about sex is just the philosophy, the stuff that they talk about, examples that they give, Man! It just like diverts your attention away from whatever you're doing and you just feel like, like, you know, dragging your chair nearer to listen closely to the conversation. That is the one that I want to do because the that's what I've been doing over the years interviewing people during a KICKSTART.MY or Fuckupnights, and I want to see whether I can actually translate that over to @dsound so that hey, maybe it could be another medium as well.

I've always loved connecting with people, digging out what makes them work or try to break them psychologically. Most of the time I failed. :) So I'm experimenting with themes so be patient with it. You can even leave a comment - what do you think will be great and then if it's feasible, I will definitely do it.

But I think I will leave a today, not like a proper conclusion, but I maybe asked you this question - What experiment you want to do on yourself for the next 21 days? So I have this podcast thing that I'm experimenting, uh, then maybe you can pick something as well so that, for example, in the areas of food or diet, maybe no carb or low carb meals or even no sugar for the next 21 days. Although I'd like to let you know, is better for you to have six days of a low carb and then maybe Sunday or one of the days you have a cheat day where I can eat everything because if you continue 21 days without carbs, they are usually quite averse physical or psychological effects.

And I do want you to come and sue me. I don't have that money. And so check my Steemit wallet. So just, you know, just just that or take more vegetables. In the areas of fitness and exercise, I don't know, walk an hour a day a walk, or walk to work if you can for the next 21 days and just observed what changes it does to your body.

On personal growth you can read, you can listen to podcasts for 30 minutes for the next 21 days. That's one. A financial habits, well, one thing I can think of right now is any changes that you have in your pocket, you know, the small little notes and coins, just put it in a jar. Put it in a jar for the next 21 days and just see how much you have. Break it up, break the jar up.

OK, don't break it because it's for the environment. Just pour out the change and buy yourself a good meal. A challenge on connectivity maybe, but for example, say hi to five random strangers for the next 21 days. It's actually quite, more difficult then you think, especially if you're an introvert like me. But just try that. You may not want to do it, but hey, for those of you who are single out there, one of the five random strangers can eventually turn out to be your dream girl. Why not? And OK, one more thing that I think could be interesting is Uninstall Facebook. Uninstall Facebook for the next 21 days. Technically kind of go off the Facebook grid for the next 21 days. And just observe your own habits like you think you cannot live without something, but you'd actually be surprised.

So leave a comment on something that you think you to commit for the next 21 days. And then I can be your accountability partner. As I record a podcast every day on dsound, maybe you just comment that "Hey Mav, I've read a 10 pages of a book that will never read on quantum physics for example today. And I'm going to do it for the next day." So just do this as a experiment at the end of 21 days I could say, if you don't like the habit, you don't have to pick it up. If you like it, then hooray! You've actually got something new in your life. So with that, I would like to end the podcast for the day. Stay tuned for what I may decided to think about in the next 23 hours to record a podcast and talk to you soon. Have a nice day.

OK, if you're still listening in, unlike Marvel movies are usually won't have a post credit scene. But, well, this, let's just call this a little Easter Egg. One thing I can remember me doing for it was 30 days, not only one days was actually having broccoli - just steamed broccoli, no salad dressing, no nothing for 30 days. If you want to know how that turned out, well after like a couple of days you only shit green. What do you expect? You're eating Broccoli, right? But the body digests a single, what we call monodiet a lot easier, for the first few days obviously suffered like shit. On day three, I remembered, if I have to see another broccoli, I would puke! But guess what? I actually still continue with that. And you know what? Right after 21 days, I don't crave immediately for broccoli, but broccoli is my favorite food. So I haven't really decided on what's the next one that I go on a mono diet. Again, if you've done any monodiets, I don't know maybe on potatoes or tomatoes or bananas before, leave a comment below and tell me your experience.

This will be the real, real, real end for today's podcast. Have a nice day. Stay awesome.



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Right about time @maverickfoo, the crowd here needs to experience your interview style! Let me know if you ever need any help :)

I'll probably do the meta thing of interviewing you on your own show, haha.

Guest interviewer hahaha!

looking forward to listening to your podcasts mav... 21 days is indeed enough to start a new habit because we are made up of them, good and bad habits and they can be changed, we just need to rewire the brain a bit

Thanks chief! Yup, kinda nice to be playing with all these new tools and softwares. :)

I am glad you decided to pursue this idea because you made a very compelling argument about why you decided to choose podcasts over writing. I think of myself more of as a writer than a speaker, but I also know I love speaking but there are fears that hold me back from pursuing speaking and doing podcasts. Your podcast and this post compelled to pursue my ambition too. Thank you :)

Yup! I think I'll always be a writer first, speaker second. But by doing these 21 days, I hope I am able to help those who are speakers first, writers second. :)

I'm not committing to anything major for at least three months. I am writing my licensure soon so I'm committing to studies for now.

Ah, good good. Perhaps a new habit in your studies? I forced myself to use the mindmap as well because it was really foreign to me, but end up loving it.

Got any link that could help me learn mindmap? Or you'll write a comprehensive article on it. ; )

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86