Suite Pour Tatyana - Ballad

in #dsound5 years ago (edited)


(many thanks to @paulobassman for mastering and re-mixing my original post, it sounds much richer now :-) )

Ballad is the second movement of this outstanding suite written for the classical guitar by Jean Sevriens. It seamlessly combines classical elements with Jazz harmonies.

It is one of my top five favorite compositions for the guitar and, although not trivial, it is very rewarding to play as the chords and melodies magically fall into place.

There is another reason why this composition is one of my all-time favorites. Jean Sevriens wrote it for Tatyana Ryzhkova and gave it to her as a Christmas present in 2012 (I hope I remember this story correctly). If you promise to listen to my recording before you visit Tatyana's page then here is the link. IMHO she is one of the greatest classical guitarists alive.

When I was practicing this suite as part of my one and (so far) only solo concert I quickly saw its potential and complexity. And I decided to write Tatyana whether I could meet her and work with her for a day or so. That was in January 2017. In mid April I have received her replay saying that she was on a concert tour and that she had time to work with me. So I traveled to the north of Germany and worked with her for two days. She and her husband even invited me to stay at their house.

The work with Tatyana was totally inspiring and it showed me that there are many more dimensions to playing the classical guitar than I had ever realized.

During these two days I also introduced them to Bitcoin - there is that risk in spending time with me.

This was an unforgettable journey.

(please excuse the poor sound quality due to clipping in a few places)



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

I have lesson your composition music.Realy very well and I touching my heart. You are a great artist realy fantastic I have downloaded it.

You do look like a happy person @mariusfebruary :)

Nicely played my friend ;) If you dont mind i am going to master your recording and had a little reverb and send it to you ;) Reposted

Oh, very cool :-)

@mariusfebruary are you on discord?
I already have the song ready for you and i dont know how to send it to you ;)

Wow that's awesome.

Very nice photography with your family.

You are looking nice.
Where have you been? You were inactive in steemit. Hope you are fine

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. The picture shows me and Tatyana in Bremen where I had dinner with her and her husband 😃. Inspiring evening.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think That's day is very enjoyable.

You are very good as a writer and your writing and post very well

Posted using Partiko Android

Getting inspired with your playing like always.

Subscribed your YouTube channel. Thanks for the nice guitar playing:-)

I have to say that your play managed to calm a bit my mind after today's dump in crypto. Moreover I think I will listen more guitar from now on. Guitar and piano were very often in my playlists but nowadays I have to admit that I have had probably too much trance and deep house music. I have never been a one music gender listener but somehow I blended quite a few and get a mix for every mood.

Thank you, this is great to hear.

Music is part of art, expressed by mouth, played by hand, and felt by heart, I am a lover of music and art, thank you for sharing, success is always for you @mariusfebruary

Really nice song. I will download the music to save my data.

Good to hear that you also introduced them to bitcoin. We has crypto hodlers have to do our bit to spread the word about cryptocurrency. Nice.

Woow.... Sooo cute and lovely look.. My dear friend...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39