Crafty Itch Episode #4 - Natural dyeing and mordants

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



Hello everyone. Welcome to the Crafty Itch podcast where a girl speaks about her constant need to make things with her own hands.

This week the main theme is hand dyeing yarn and how mordants changed the dyeing process.

This weeks results using the same dyes as last week from front to back: avocado stones and skins, black bean, avocado stones and skins overdyed with red onion skin, and red onion skin.
20180213085956.JPG

I feel like I almost have a complete rainbow:
20180213090008.JPG

Hope you enjoy!

Please check out the Instagram feed: @mariamelga.blog

Intro by: Easy Lemon Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com) Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Wow--turquoise and green?! That really is the Holy Grail of natural dyeing. Congratulations on unlocking what sounds like many beautiful colors!

I'm sure it was beginner luck somehow! I don't know what happened with the previous post but I've put up some pictures of the dyed yarn now. Thank you for the comment @colleenthurber!

They're GORGEOUS! I'm having dyer's envy right now, haha! I've used alum as a mordant as well, though I haven't had it modify the colors like you experienced. Often my natural dyed fabrics fade disappointingly over time, but I think that is due more to my post-dye care (especially use of harsh laundry soaps) than any fault of the alum itself. Curious if you have experience with laundering naturally dyed fabrics?

I just started dyeing myself so I don't have a lot of experience with how long these colours will last. I will do an update as soon as I decide what to make out of them and wear it for a while. Thank you!

i like your song (y)

Made a bag out of this some years back

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61