The Vagabond - Theodosia Garrison (Recitation by Kay Clarity)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


I love these recitations I've started doing. I hope you do, too! The poems get in my blood a bit more when I recite and record rather than just read them. I love how this one came clear as I recited it a few times--the lost dream, presented as a long-lost beggar, appearing forlornly back in the swing of life moved long past it. A lovely little idea.

And I know the modern world is "over" rhyme and metre as old-fashioned or whatever, but I insist that it's perfectly charming and only adds to the magic of words. We've lost something in emphasizing free form exclusively in recent decades.

Enjoy!

xx,
Kay

"The Vagabond" by Theodosia Garrison

 The little dream she had forgot
Oh, long and long ago,
Came back across the April fields
And touched her garment so
(As might a wind-blown primrose cling
And one scarce guess or know.)

A little beggared outcast dream
Forgot of Love and men,
And all because a fiddler played
An old song in the glen,
And two Young Lovers hand in hand,
Sent back its tune again.

The little dream she had forgot
Crept near and clung and stayed--
A roving, ragged vagabond
Half daring, half afraid,
And all because young love went by
And one old fiddler played...

Follow me, k? @kayclarity

You can also find me on YT, FB, and IG as well as MeWe.

To be able to continue to create my art, I also recently started a Patreon or you can donate through my website. It's off to a good start and I'd love you to be a part of it!

Photo is from Unsplash, by Benjamin Davies. I've forgotten to credit the last few - apologies!
.


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80