Original Music: Doomed... or Dream Breaking... what should I name it?

in #dsound5 years ago (edited)


Oh, the stories and moods that parade through my mind. This song is one of those where the words just started flowing in the morning, me belly down on my yoga mat scrawling away in a notebook.

By midnight I had a rough recording, but the next day I didn’t like it. My default rhythm seems to be 3/4 time, but half the songs that start that way don’t end up sounding good to my ears as a freaking waltz, so they morph.

I’m not sure this song is finished morphing, but here’s what I’ve got right now. It was fun layering the vocals.

I think this is called "Doomed," but it started out with the title "Dream Breaking." Both seem especially foreboding, which isn't really my thing unless we're talking fiction, which we are in this case... at least partially.

What do you think I should name it?


Doomed / Dream Breaking


Crawl back inside your imagination, now
There’s nothing here for you
Just impossibility and heartache
Nothing you can do

Let go and refocus
Climb back inside your mind
Where at least you’ll find some comfort
Craft some words that are kind

It’ll tide you over for a while
Maybe long enough to recapture your smile
And, no, it won’t be like the real thing
But you knew this was doomed
From the beginning

Go back to your made up world
Weave your words, bold and teasing
You’ll never slake your thirst
But don’t give up, nothing’s easy

The risk is half the thrill
But you’ll never get your fill
So take the safe road for once
And try to stay still

It’ll tide you over for a while
Maybe long enough to recapture your smile
And, no, it won’t be like the real thing
But you knew this was doomed
From the beginning

Crawl back inside your imagination, now
There’s nothing here for you
Draw your heart back from that dream
There’s nothing you can do

Original songwriting by Katrina Ariel

Listen on Choon


Thanks for checking out my music!

The lyrics are a twist to the heart, but there’s the “don’t give up” line, so there’s always hope. Also, as @paintingangels reminded me, if you start out with a bit of doom, there’s nowhere to go but up. ;)

This piece is mostly about writing, and I’m excited to get back to revising my fantasy manuscript soon. Long live the imagination!

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
Eclipse photo credit: Clayton Caldwell/Unsplash.


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steem.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


alliance banner


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

I prefer Dream Breaking myself

Posted using Partiko iOS

I like that one, too. Doomed makes sense, considering the lyrics, but I think Dream Breaking has more poetic power... it just seems cruel. lol!

You need a recording studio........... a real one......

YOU AMAZE ME!

Yes, please!

And thank you. Sometimes I amaze myself. I have some really good muses.

That's a great one, different and I love that 😊 you really have a wide and beautiful mind 😍👍
I agree with @snook you need a real studio and recording... Lol

As always you deliver Awsomeness ❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, sweet Sass. My mind is its own world. ;) And I hope to have my own little studio one day! How awesome that would be. ❤️

as you know I am terrible with coming up with titles, but I prefer dream breaking, as a title for this it is a little dark but it does have a positive side as well, and lets face it the world is a mix of light and dark and we have to accept both sides and do the best we can

and lets face it the world is a mix of light and dark and we have to accept both sides and do the best we can

^^ This! Indeed. Thank you for the thoughtful comment.

Just what came to me reading your lyrics 😎👍😎

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by katrina-ariel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @pechichemena from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

I wasn't sure what to expect when I clicked on the song link, this came out really well! Those harmonies are right on point!

Thank you! I really enjoyed doing the harmony vocal track. :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 360 (1/03/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65682.90
ETH 3579.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51