K00PA: An Original Mario-Inspired Song

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


The first game that I was thoroughly invested in as a kid was Super Mario 64. I remember my dad having it on the N64 when I was 8 or so probably. I still think of it as the best Mario - containing most of the classic 2D Mario enemies and concepts, but in a captivating 3D world, with a perfect system in which the paintings in the castle are different stages and the puzzles gain a whole new depth. I love this game to death; I have yet to get a single 120 star (perfect) game, but there's always someday. MarioKart 64 was also an early favorite of mine (does anyone dislike the original MarioKart? If so, that's sacrilegious). I spent many hours pouring over these games with friends and family. They hold a special place in my heart.

Anyways, when I was producing my first sample-based beattape about... Holy shit, over three years ago... ( I was 18!) I knew I wanted to make a beat containing classic video game samples, and I ended up sampling Super Mario 64 and MarioKart 64 (suprise!). There's a skit that I created using audio bites as the intro, don't worry, it's long but is also followed by actual music :) I used lots of Mario, Yoshi, Toad, and Wario sounds in this piece in addition to random SFX from the games. The main sample in this tune is the MarioKart 64 'Starman' Theme.

To watch a video of me completing the second star in Super Mario 64, Footrace With Koopa The Quick, in time with the song that I composed with samples from the game, see below:


All sample credits go to Nintendo, original compositions by me

Listen to the rest of the beattape here: soundcloud.com/k0wsk1/sets/k0wsk1

Thanks for stopping by!
► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

While I am not a fan of Mario Bro's, it was a pretty good clip, except the fact it was a bit disorienting to watch, the camera was doing to much moving and wiggling for me, kind of made me dizzy. maybe a small tripod or fixed location for the camera next time so there is not so much camera movement.

Funny story, this disorienting effect is actually the program trying to auto-stabilize the footage based on a steady video of the screen, the camera actually is on a tripod :P Its just that the movement of the game is causing the stabilizing plugin to go all crazy. I kept it this way because I thought it was kinda weird and cool back in the day, but it's understandably offputting and dizzying to some. Thanks for your feedback and your vote, man!

Your welcome. This week I am trying to let people know about Phishing attempts so when you click a link, make sure you end up where you thought you would and be very careful about any re-log in request, first hit reload, it that does not work, make real sure you are on steemit.

Right on, thanks for the heads up! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59048.85
ETH 2984.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71