Original Music: What is That to You?

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Here's a piece I originally wrote a couple of years ago, but just recently revisited. I'm not sure what to think of it, to be honest.

It was, and probably still is, a musical reflection of my adolescence. Perhaps a way for me to reflect on how vivid every experience, whether physical, emotional, intellectual or spiritual was, and how difficult it felt to parse and analyze those experiences or make sense of the variety of voices offering accounts of how to parse it all.

Libraries/Instruments Used

Plogue Art et Technologie Inc, Sforazando SFZ player
Plogue Alter/Ego instrument for Sforazando
Synsonic BD-808
Togu Audio Line TAL-Noisemaker
BeatSkillz Free Drum VST
Walid Ferhali Feroyn's Flute
Ivy Audio, Piano in 162
Karanyi Music Synth-1 Mini Collection
Native Instruments Kontakt Factory Library Closed Hihats 1
Soundiron Ironpack 7 Soprano Voice

Your Thoughts

Like I said, I've never been, and I'm still not, sure what to make of this one, so let me know what you think, or if you have any questions about the process or the decisions made with the song.



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

I like the collected steady pace. I like the melody on the piano that drives it through. I like the voice but wish I knew what was being said. The whole sound is slightly hollow and removed but the piano makes it human.

Thanks for those thoughts! That’s actually largely what I was aiming for (except maybe the ‘hollow’). The voice is reciting a line from the Bible. Jesus—recently resurrected—has just forgiven Peter for denying that he knew him the day Jesus was crucified, and has welcomed him back into his circle and told him that he expects him (Peter) to lead his disciples after he (Jesus) has gone. Then he kind of abruptly prophecies to Peter that Peter will die violently for his belief in Jesus. Peter’s a little discombobulated by it, and looks down the beach to see another of Jesus’ friends walking by himself, and asks Jesus what’s going to happen to that guy?

And Jesus says “If I want him to remain until I come again, what is that to you? You follow me.”

The point of it in the song is more than anything about slowly coming to grips with having to live my own life, and understand myself without unneeded comparisons to what other people thought or did. The religious overtones and garbled words are referential to processing these topics in a religious context and feeling like the truth of the matter, and my own thoughts, were never clear.

Thanks so much again for the thoughts. Hope the explanation of what the voice is saying is helpful.

Yes, great to have it explained. I think by 'hollow' I didn't mean the overall content, but an echoey sound to the production.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05