Ode to a Friend (TC Newman Remix)

in #dsound7 years ago (edited)


Follow Jon Magnusson on all platforms


Eclectic indie folk pop from Sweden


► Listen on DSound

The story behind

At the age of 15 I lost one of my best friends in cancer and 10 years later I wrote this song as a tribute.

One of the first musician friends I got to know in the independent music scene @tcnewman really took this song to his heart and asked me if he could make a remix of it.

And so he did a new arrangement and I did the final mix and mastering and this is the result. A cinematic tribute to friendship and love.

Lyrics

Vers:

You were young, you had barely turned fifteen
When they stuck you underground
You took you're voice and buried it* within
Oh how I miss that sound

Ref:

And it was cold, when they took you
You were supposed to get old, just like us
I never told you, you never heard, what a friend you were

Vers:

The girl who rose the lust inside your soul
Now she is crying infront of me
Her tears are falling softly on the floor
While she's asking you for peace

Ref:

Vers:

I can still remember knocking on your door
Just to say goodbye my friend
Your father took my hand and shook his head
You had already gone away

Ref:


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)


Follow Jon Magnusson on all platforms


Eclectic indie folk pop from Sweden

Sort:  

your post looks awesome, thANK YOU,i hope to get more from you

nice tribute.

This was a nice one. I loved the instrumentals. Your friend must have been really close to you to have dedicated such a nice song to him. Keep up the good work.

Lovely tribute and great remix that preserves the sentiment of the track.

loving the strings.... got a bit of 80ies (the good ones) feeling to it

Sad, but great song! Reminds me some of the Flaming Lips. Especially the music!

thanks for sharing man. not only the tune, but the back story as well. its always interesting hearing the source of inspiration for other artists.

wow jon, this is so emotional, he really brings the emotion out in this remix very strong. your friend is proud of this i am certain :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58630.84
ETH 2465.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38