Still I Rise by Maya Angelou -- An entry to Poetry Reading Contest of @mermaidvampire

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Hello fellow Steemians this is my entry for @mermaidvampire's poetry reading contest. I picked Maya Angelou's *Still I Rise* because of the message that it brings. For me this piece is not only intended for those who are a victim of racism but it can also give hope and uplift the spirits of those who experience bullying in any forms whether its through the cyberspace or not since its very rampant nowadays.*"Still I Rise"*, for me is a kind of piece that tells you to get up and continue life even if you stumbled and fall. That no matter what happens just keep on believing in your own self, believe in your dreams, believe in your own capabilities and never back down. Guards up and fight.

Below is the copy of the poetry I'm talking about. 😊

Still I Rise

Maya Angelou



You may write me down in history
With your bitter, twisted lies,
You may trod me in the very dirt
But still, like dust, I'll rise.

Does my sassiness upset you?
Why are you beset with gloom?
'Cause I walk like I've got oil wells
Pumping in my leaving room.

Just like moons and like suns,
With the certainty of tides,
Just like hopes springing high,
Still I'll rise.

Did you want to see me broken?
Bowed head and lowered eyes?
Shoulders falling down like teardrops,
Weakened by my soulful cries?

Does my haughtiness offend you?
Don't you take it awful hard
'Cause I laugh like I've got gold mines
Diggin' in my own backyard.

You may shoot me with your words,
You may cut me with your eyes,
You may kill me with your hatefulness,
But still, like air, I'll rise.

Does my sexiness upset you?
Does it come as a surprise
That I dance like I've got diamonds
At the meeting of my thighs?

Out of the huts of history's shame
I rise
Up from a past that's rooted in pain
I rise
I'm a black ocean, leaping and wide,
Welling and swelling I bear in the tide.

Leaving behind nights of terror and fear
I rise
Into a daybreak that's wondrously clear,
I rise
Bringing the gifts of my ancestors gave,
I am the dream and the hope of the slave
I rise
I rise
I rise.


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jennybeans from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 4.12% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @jennybeans!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Sympre babawi din ako. Grabe o trademark mo na talaga yung malambing na boses @jennybeans!

Ang galing sana manalo ito sa pa contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66