(DSound Exclusive!) "Dear Caeden" - The loss of a son

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

My son, Caeden, passed away almost 8 years ago. There were some unforeseen medical conditions that led his death after his birth. It was, and still is, a very tough situation for me. I wrote this song to help me cope, which is why I write songs in the first place. This was probably the most defining moment of my life, and changed me in such a profound way. I can look at who I was before and after, and the two people are very different, for better or worse.

The loss of a child is something that can honestly not be expressed in words. It's a constant whole, a vacancy that'll never be filled. The worst thing is just not being able to see the man he would have grown to be. To be there for him, to love him... That's the hardest thing I've ever had to deal with, and even though it's been almost 8 years, I still deal with it every day.

If you aren't interested in hearing a grown man cry, lol, I would say not to listen to this song, because I do cry a little bit in it. Can't help it. The quality of the audio is not the best because of this. Was very hard for me to get a good recording because it's exceptionally hard for me to actually perform this song, for obvious reasons. I hope you guys enjoy the song, or at least get something out of it. Thank you for checking out my music!

Lyrics:
Waking up looking at the clock again,
Wanting it to all end, no acknowledgements
Trying not to think about how my life has been
Seen some stuff, it’s a rough life I’m in
I had a son, but I didn’t see him turn one
Not one breathe, not one step,
Not one goodbye when he had left
The days went by, All I did was rest
They said I was “upset”, no I was more like death
I didn’t leave my room except to go work
I pissed in cups too and you could smell it on my shirt
You say that’s sick? well I was feeling worse
Have you ever had to see your kid dead and in the dirt?
If you have then you would know the loss too
It’s like life done gave up and forgot you
So fuck life, I wanna be lost too

Feeling void… That’s the real description of it
Just a zombie, eatin, shitin, feelin nothin
I don’t think about the future, cuz it's what I miss
I don’t think about the past, cuz it don't exist
I don’t think about the present, cause it all is shit
All I think about is this confusion that I can’t forget
And how my life has missed, and how I might of hit
it out of the park if I got the chance, it might be it
But it’s not, will it be, is it ever here?
Is it ever gunna be my day, my month, my year?
They say to dry my tears,
But what’s the use? cuz when I do they reappear
But there is no fear
It’s just a blank stare, I breathe in deep though
just so I can make air
and when I ain’t here, it’s because I can’t bare
all of this shit in my head every day it aint fair, God, it aint fair

Sort:  

Sorry to hear man! That is really rough, much love to you!

It is rough, but time is the best healer, besides community of course!

Thanks for the support!

Wow!!! This is deep and I find it hard to write a worthy comment but I just wanted to show some luv man!! music is the best medicine!! Its def helped me through 'stuff'. Peace bro.

Thanks man, I really appreciate it.

Yea, music is definitely amazing. For me, it's the writing part. Just getting all of that shit out.

That definitely had my eyes tearing up! After reading what happened and listening to that, I really dont know what to say. I can't imagine what it must be like to go through. I'm speechless. That song really got me.

Thank you man, I really appreciate it. I don't want people to be sad, but I also think that's when art is doing it's job is by eliciting some emotional response, ya know?

you're right there. I felt every word you said in that song! It's not often I find a song that genuinely draws out emotion in me. it's a really beautiful piece of music spoken from the heart!

I can't even imagine what that was like bro.

Im sure he would have been happy to see who you are and is going to be real happy looking down when we make it big with this stuff man. keep grinding your words are real and we need more people doing stuff like this.

I appreciate it man.

Yea, #thecut going to go places for sure!

Wow is right this is something deep and most truthful from the heart. You can feel it!!

I can not ever comprehend that experience, I can though empathize. My children were stolen by the government. And much longer story to that then just the government..

Basically though I haven't seen my children since 2012 and yea I think about them every moment I breathe.

Thank you for sharing!!

Thank you for checking it out man!!

I think you know what it's like to some extent then man. Just not having your children around you is painful enough. I haven't gone through it, but I've seen my sister go through it, and it's a very very tough situation.

The government fucking sucks.

Yea maybe when I am more comfortable recording and doing all that comes with that I will speak on it..

And yea the government doesn't suck.. It is controlling the minds of the world. The word government means "to control mind" I can get deep quick when it comes to language.. haha

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by JamesGetsIt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Congratulations, on behalf of the @echowhale team , you post has been promoted and given an upvote

Congratulations , your post has been reesteemed by our @echowhale services

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67917.78
ETH 3516.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72