There's Something Wired Wrong In Me // My Original Song Remix

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


I've fallen into the deep, dark pit of despair again.
There's something wired wrong in me.

I came home from work last night, opened up my hackmd, and wrote that.

It reminded me of my song Energy.

I was going to write about my feelings, but I decided that I needed the catharsis of creative energy instead.

I haven't actually worked on music in months.
I've been having a difficult time balancing everything I want/need to do and my own music has suffered for it.

I decided to create a version of Energy that represented how I was feeling.

The original production is a bit heavy with distorted guitars and drums dominating the mix.

For this mix I only used the vocal, piano, and synth stems.
I took the piano part that happens at the end of the song and used it throughout the verses which creates a droning, ostinato effect.
I eliminated the first chorus as well as all post-choruses.
The song format is now similar to my song, Descend.... verse, verse, chorus, outro.
I used the final post-chorus piano part for the chorus in this version.
I had to pitch shift one of my vocal syllables down by a half step to make it work.
Then I created a string and synth bass part for the last chorus to bring back some of the low end.

This mix isn't as good as the original, but I prefer this more spacious production.

I had fun doing this! I may create this type of remix for all my heavy guitar-oriented​ songs.

I forgot how meditative working on music can be.
I got lost in what I was doing for about 6 hours and didn't go to sleep until 3 AM!

And the most important thing to me is how healing it was.
Before I decided to work on this last night I was feeling very low, but as I was working on it I felt energized, content, and fulfilled.


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

I am very poor when it comes to compose music .. however I don’t see anything wrong -:)

38D62796-DCBD-4FD5-B19E-6F3A7A6BF197.jpeg

Haunting Intro , Love Your Vocal and the Reversed Reverb effects. That 1.47 Mark Excellent touch . Another Great Song from You :)

Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment...I really appreciate it!

i hope that those are just lyrics... hugs Isa

I love you. You are a beautiful person, and I love your music and emotional depth. moar pretty songs!!!

Thank you so much Torico....love you too!

I had fun doing this! I may create this type of remix for all my heavy guitar-oriented​ songs.

yes! Good idea :)
I love it
maybe increase the vocal level a bit. I like the more ethereal mix :)
I totally understand you on the healing part. It is not just music I guess it is what you most love to do always heals. But if it happens to be creating music, then I believe it is really powerful :)

Very true and thank you! I do enjoy ethereal rather than heavy and distorted.
It's weird, I kept raising the vocal but it was still low.
I suck at mixing lol

nice post
......I enjoy the energy you bring to the platform, you stand out and ooze authenticity which is rather hard to come by at times. muy talented mi amiga

Thanks so much battleaxe...that means a lot coming from you.

"There's something wired wrong in me..."
Now I understand the meaning in the song a bit better. In the other version of the song I didn't catch that lyric, I was listening to the "It's not how I wanna be" part more.
I understand the nature of the wiring problem to some extent, some of my wires aren't connected to the proper terminals either...

Ah yes....we both have some wiring issues don't we.
<3
Thanks for always supporting my music posts with your thoughtful comments.

I love the way you wrote the song naturally, the words were flowing really from inside, makes it personal and original. Nice writing

Thank you :)

Haunting, love all the voice fx and the second half is epicness

Thank you Yidneth <3

You are welcome, I love all the little fx and I totally love your songs... so my pleasure!

This is sick! Are you open to other people remixing your stuff too? I definitely feel like I need to pay homage to that Descend EP =D

I would love to hear a remix of Descend!!!!

Do you have the audio stems? Because I seriously might take you up on that! I've listened to that EP like 100 times lol. Honestly I feel like Energy might be the most remix-able but I'm super open to whatever!

I do have stems! But I have no idea how to send them to you! lol

No worries! Usually Google Drive gets that job done no problem. You can send them to '[email protected]' -

Honestly really stoked about this lol! Feel free to send them over if that's something you're interested in! Or even hit me up on Discord if you want to chat first! You have my DM!

Hehe well, last night you had active creativity .. your mixes are very good

lol yes I sure did, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40