The Googly - To Slip Away (Original Track)

in #dsound6 years ago


I've been slacking on uploading the rest of this EP, but today I'm back at it and wanted to share one of the weirder tracks I've ever made.

I had this thought while listening to Jon Hopkins's amazing remix of Nosaj Thing's Us of how different that the song was from traditional structure. Essentially, most songs start with an intro and then progress into a peak. Get a little more intense along the way and bring that energy as it gets going. That remix flipped the script a bit and started heavier before disintegrating into something a bit sadder with the song almost falling apart towards the end in a pretty beautiful way.

That was really the concept behind this song and I think I enjoy it because it breaks that rule. This song starts off at its heaviest and the transition is kind of startling with distorted blasts and heavy beat before falling apart and becoming a fairly unnerving bit of piano at the end that listening to all these years later reminds me of NIN for some reason. Perhaps its the piano which sounds vaguely like the piano from Closer.

This song was made using Ableton with much of the distortion coming from one of the most consistent tools in my bag, Audio Damage's Kombinat which is one of the wildest and hardest to control distortion plugins I've ever used. Seriously great plugin and I'll be highlighting it later this week.

Thanks for listening and let me know what you think below.



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69394.55
ETH 3894.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73