Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 172 Part 1 (Podcast Version)

in #dsound5 years ago


This is a podcast version of a video from Day 172 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' six hundred and sixty-three days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods. 'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

Video Note: Because DTube only host video files for forty-five days I have compressed this video to a low-quality 240p file before uploading it. After the forty-five day period (or if you want to view a higher quality version of this video) please use the following link to view this video on Google Drive.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0BwBY4ko1KwkSb0s2cVFQTHBENk0

In this video I talk about being kept up late again by the fireworks and gun shots because I had to sooth the dogs.

I talk about getting more of my laundry done using the bucket washing method. I also talk about making some clothes lines with some twine and some old electric fence wire.

I talk about getting more rain that day and how none of my black locust seeds are growing yet.

I talk about how well the black locust sapling (that I transplanetd into a five gallon bucket) is doing.

I explain how black locust trees lose their thorns as they get older and how the honey locust tree is the kind that always keeps it's thorns.

I talk about the dogs alerting to a black snake under the shed and how after calling the dogs away it went to the shack and crawled inside of it.

I talk about getting a better look at the snake that I had previously mentioned living by the bridge and how it is a banded water snake.

I talk about how at the 'dump site' in the corner of the public road folks had left all their fireworks trash laying everywhere so I bagged it all up in a big clear plastic bag and hung it from a small black locust tree beside the road. I later went back and the bag was gone!

I get off on a tangent about people littering and how hrrible I think it is.

Tip: If you have trouble listening to the audio you can always download it directly.

My D.Tube Channel:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94