Say Goodbye to Another Heartbeat

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


A sad, sad song.

Down on the streets where life goes by
These hollow dreams are enough to get you high
It's so much brighter here when the lights go down
the carnivals take their places all around

The city train is the only sound I hear
It rings out loud just like a buzz saw in my ear
And inside all the haze there's some tranquility
And I see a moment no one else can see

I'd walk away from it if I could
Just let me know where I misunderstood
I belong to the lonely, shadowed streets
Say goodbye to another heartbeat

The lost dreams of silence soon fill my head
The cold, cold feeling comes over me with every word I've said
I taste the rain that falls on my lips
tastes like a fairy tale that fades into bliss

I'd walk away from it if I could
Just let me know where I misunderstood
I belong to the lonely, shadowed streets
Say goodbye to another heartbeat

The concrete streets are down below
They crumble away just like snow
I'd walk away from it if I could
Just let me know where I misunderstood

I belong to the lonely, shadowed streets
Say goodbye to another heartbeat.

©Jeff hightower @hornetmusic
Photo by my wife, Serena @paintingangels

jeffhightower.com


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66330.08
ETH 3331.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70