Several passages read in fluent Hebrew - as promised.

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

I had promised a surprise native Israeli reader on my most recent shabbat blog. Here he is reading part of Genesis in the second chapter.

gen 8 - 12.jpg

Listen on DSound.Audio

Read by Asaf Bereby

Super thanks to @asafb2k for taking the time to send a recording of b'resheet in the mid section of the second chapter, read fluently by Asaf Bereby who lives in the land of milk and honey. Verse numbers are slightly different in the Hebrew bible, which is why I said midsection. (Asaf had given me permission to post using his reading and I have been waiting to do this post for a very long time.

Now that you have heard the bible read fluently, you will agree that the slow and short sets of words that I read are just that, slow and short. You should find yourself associating sounds with the letter imagery, then noting the niqqud (vowels) and their location. Pause and repeat when I post a short reading. (difficult to do with today's passage- but try if you feel up to it!)


The Contest

Anyone who has already learned the language, please don't reply. I would like a student to find the answer. If you know the answer immediately, just type the words "Restraining myself!" you will be rewarded via vote(s) for not ruining the learning opportunity for my student followers

Here is the contest:

Problem:

Asaf read all the words as he sees them. He is used to reading Hebrew without the niqqud (without the vowel markings).

Here is a note from him shortly before he made this recording

שבת שלום, צור איתי קשר במייל על מנת שאוכל לשלוח לך את ההקלטה שלי קורא בעברית. כמו שדיברנו בפוסט הקודם שלך.
you see he does not use vowel points, but the Tanakh does have them

As he read in Genesis (b'resheet), I heard him say a word several times. The word was missing a vowel, but Asaf clearly said the vowel. I am pretty sure he used the correct pronunciation of that word. Your job? Find the word. Spell the word in the comments. Then show me the letter and include the vowel that was missing.

Rules:

Identify the missing vowel. You must spell the word that was missing a vowel. Then either write the letter with the vowel in place or capture it from another word. Snap a picture if you wrote it, or take a screen shot if you found the same letter that has the correct vowel. Post it to the comments.

First one to comment correctly wins!

Example: The word was bet resh alef and the letter was bet' beyt.jpg


The winner gets 20 sbd

Others may be rewarded for valiant efforts.

Best of luck talmidim.

*Get your Hebrew Bible and join in! Click here to obtain the book we are using.

Shalom

Sort:  

I need to learn this language in order i need to read the bible in the hebrew language that is my wish Sir but i think i need to start learning From A B C maybe thats hard for me

ITS TRUE BUT 1ST WE HAVE TO START FROM THE BEGINNING, THEN WE CAN SAY THAT WE ARE TRYING OUR BEST.

The cholam is missing from your text ... but I hear it spoken....
This is an excellent Challenge.

If you were the first, you win! I will need to confirm that via steemd.

I have read every comment. You win!

You were not only the first, but the only one who got it as of 2 hours into shabbat.

Congrats

God'sname.jpg

Congratulations to @offgridlife. That was fast .

Loading...

Congrats. Not easy.

Thank you very much. Your lessons must be working. This little Italian Ojibwe from Canada is learning Hebrew.

I was very nervous about posting these sacred letters as some people would copy and paste without knowing the significance of this very sacred name.

I feel the same way. Since I wrote that you won, I have not been able to get back on line. My computer (which runs for 8 months at a time without breaking a sweat) needed a restart and only half the programs run now. I have got back ups of my passwords but typing in posting and active keys is not fun. I can't pull up a text editor.

Well, I am limping here, but I will check the whole list. I don't work on Shabbat but I was able to get my computer half up and running just before sunset. Craziness.

I am trying to read the text and listen to the audio at the same time from my phone as I ride the train to a Construction job site. Who would ever have imagined learning Hebrew this way. Only on Steemit.

The sound "O"..... Vowel: cholam is missing from the letter Heh in the text you posted.

Maybe there are other words like this .... I will keep looking.

Thanks. I had to listen many time through and compare with each letter of the text. A difficult challenge but made for a very enjoyable afternoon on the train.

Hi hibru. I am @rajeeb . Your fan.....A few days ago yuo gave me a upvote. Your kindness My
post are Very develope.
please I hope you give me a one upvote again....
75930344_1.jpg
Thank you....@rajeeb

Loading...

finally :). if you need somthing else just ask i will be happy to help.

BTW- you should check my moms blog. i think you will find the content there very interesting:

https://steemit.com/judaism/@brigitte0659/tu-b-shevat

I got busy today and when I got back I found a large mountain of comments. I am hoping to find that one of my students guessed the word. I can't say more right now. Thank you for the link.

Great work .. thanks for sharing this.

something everyone should try to find out thanks for sharing this new challenge

tnx for upvote

You are just awesome!
תודה רבה לך על הפוסטים המעניינים הללו, אפילו בתור מישהו שכבר דובר עברית

Yes - This is so good to see on Steemit every Shabbat.

The most worthwhile thing on the Internet if you ask me. I have wanted to learn Hebrew for 50 years.

@hebrew wow great article thank sir good post
##Upvote/Resteem###

Thanks For Upvoted And Resteemted

I appreciate your work @steem2000

@shahaan
This is called comment spam, you will be flagged for this.

but u can sometime earn 20$too

No, you don't earn money by posting your links in comment section.
You will have to make a valuable comment that encourages discussion or adds value to the post you are commenting on.

Will keep that in mind... Thankya

Great job! Sir @hebrew, this is a real challenge to your students and followers, i hope everyone will learn the hebrews language step by step. God bless!

Yes you're right he always share a great learning language

I appreciate your comments @gracey

good one i like the song you sing it's sounds so good and relaxing i really like it alot ... it's been great to hear you thank to you @hebrew

who most enjoy the pronunciation. get to know some sounds. this is fantastic. @hebrew
Resteemed

You made a good call here sir! But unfortunately, I can't interpret the word....
Tnx for putting out this contest and congratulations to whoever wins.

Thanks for Resteemted it

Keep up your great work @elfrances185

Are you owner of this post? @myeasin
Why you are replied in all comment.
Don't try to spam.

every day we find new things @walid321

Wonderful lesson!!@hebrew.always wait for your new post sir.so happy to see you .@resteem your post sir.
moabite_stone.jpg

Yes ! We are all waiting her post because that is learning point of Hebrew language

I appreciate your comments @lindalorence

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28