Storytellers [03] - Central America

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Time to Explore New Territories

pyramidborderfalse.png


That's what this song makes me want to do. There's something about how the synth comes in after the acoustic guitar that reminds me of an explorer pushing aside vegetation/vines to uncover some long lost ancient civilization. During the time of writing this, my hypothetical ghost town would be somewhere in Central America, and here's why......


It's story time, kids!


Alright so back to my last trip in Mexico...... Again. Ok guys, if anyone does follow my blog here, you know I talk a lot about this trip, and why. Anyways, before I begin this short story I must preface with this fact: I am really really, really really really bad with geography. Laughably bad, I'll admit it. So bad, in fact, I won't even tell you where I've thought some countries are located in the world. I'm ok with admitting my ignorances, but you guys don't need to know all the details lol.

Having said that, my ex was kind of the opposite. She's like really really, really really really good at geography, and we had a playful relationship. Any chance we could, we would give each other shit. I always got the "dumb American not know where anything is outside his country," from her. It was all in good fun.


So this one time.....


When in Bacalar we made a trip to Belize, since it was only about 40 minutes drive. I like being picky about my travels. It makes me feel more worldly. I mentioned that it was also cool going to Belize because technically it was the first time I left my home continent of North America. It got quiet. My ex was like, "you never left North America," to which I replied, "Belize is in Central America." "There's no such thing as Central America."


What?!?!


She was adamant. So adamant, in fact, it made me question my own reality. What have I been taught all this time? Did I hallucinate this? Then we refer to the internet. Central America seems to be a thing, and has a few countries apart of it. She is still in disbelief, stating, "Maybe that's an American thing." You know. MURICA! We make our own shit up all the time and define our own geography. I wasn't going to completely knock that. I only really know things taught from an "American" perspective, so to speak. Maybe she was right.


Only one way to find out......


When we got back to Bacalar to the family we stayed with, we had to ask them. They looked at my ex like she was crazy. I was right!!! By golly, I was right! It felt great. Given how bad I am at geography, and how good she is, I reveled in this moment. I would never and will never let her forget the time I bested her in my geographical knowledge. What better way to immortalize a memory forever? Make a song about it!!! I won't get many more or any of those types of wins ever again, so I gotta take em while they come.


We will forever laugh about this.


pyramidborderfalse.png

I hope you enjoy this song, and get some laughs from the story. I recorded the acoustic guitar myself, the synth is from my Korg Minilogue, and as always, I craft my own beats from scratch! No drag and drop drum loops for this guy. If you like what I do, leave a thoughtful comment about why! I rather enjoy those. Peace and love, Steemfam


pyramidborderfalse.png

Falseyedolshiresgreen.jpg

falseyedolsbannerblogsteemit.jpg


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Man, I wanted to here how that synth comes in after the acoustic guitar, but Dsound didn't do me any favors today. I'll try later ...

It's really mellow and relaxing... I like that it's not overdone and that it remains like a very chill the whole way through. Nice artwork too :) it has some impresionist colour vibe. Funny anecdote. :)

When you have been with someone for a while it's those little victories that count. haha. Thanks for sharing @falseyedols

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82