Knowing Venezuelan traditional-popular music. Today's song: Luna cumanesa

in #dsound6 years ago


It is a pleasure for me to reference in this musical area the song of today, Luna cumanesa (moon cumans) by the Venezuelan author Pedro Hernández. It is a Vals Song this time played by Tomás Velásquez accompanied by the Musical Group of José Gregorio Enis.

The author of this waltz is a prolific composer of Venezuelan music, as well as other popular genres such as bolero and guaracha. Hernández was born in the city of Cumaná on September 9, 1940 and has a copious musical production under his belt. From a young age he felt passion for music. Among his songs are: El Toro, Estrella y Caracol, El Embarcado, El Trickster, Luna Cumanesa, The Most Popular Party, I'm Cumanés and El Carro de Casimiro, maybe the latter is the most famous of his songs. Hernández was part of the group "Los 5 Ases" with which he toured several countries including Spain where he won a valuable prize. With the Venezuelan singer Tania he formed a successful duo, recording many of his songs, one of them, the very popular Ola de la Mar. Pedro Hernández died on May 16, 1989.

In this opportunity you will hear the delicate version that was recorded by Tomás Velásquez with the musical accompaniment of the group directed by José Gregorio Enis in a Musical Production entitled Un Canto a Cumaná (Traditional Song, Parrandas and Aguinaldos). .

Estelio Padilla

Song title: Luna cumanesa
Genre: Waltz Song
Letter and Music: Pedro Hernández
Voice: Tomás Velásquez
Cuatro and Mandolin: José Gregorio Enis
Guitar: Pedro Colombet
Percussion: Carlos Carvajal
Electric Bass: Franklin Velásquez

Luna Cumanesa
(Moon cumans)

A sad night
I spoke with the moon
About my pain
I said crying
I live dreaming
Your separation

I have no consolation
I do not find incentive
To revive
Since they left
He just left me
The desolation

A sad night
I spoke with the moon
About my pain
I said crying
I live dreaming
Your separation

I have no consolation
I do not find incentive
To revive
Since they left
He just left me
The desolation

Luna Cumanesa
You know the secret
From my loneliness
Do not tell anyone
That every night
You see me cry
Do not tell the story
That has left its mark
Within me being
I never understand
My great suffering
And my suffering

Luna Cumanesa
You know I'm waiting for you
At the sea's shore
He did not make the appointment
And this suffering
He does not want to end
Long is my hope
With my disappointment
I'd rather die
Luna Cumanesa
To distant lands
I have to go


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83