Episode 6: 'Of samurai & thugs' — by Segovia ['Muju principles' Beat-tape].

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Good evening everyone! It's @elbrujo aka 'Segovia' on the turntables (jk). It's wednesday, therefore I've brought you another episode of my 'Muju principles' beat-tape. This is the sixth track; 'Of samurais & thugs'.


This one gave me a little bit of trouble since I didn't like the original sample; but after playing around with the position of the sound bits and ended up with this piece. I've been listening to boombap hiphop instrumental recently and wanted to emulate some of those boombap drums of my tracks. Most lo-fi instrumentals have like, a distinct dry sound (Not all of them), and very few (that I've heard) sound bouncy and funky. This track has some heavy kicks, a very monotone pattern. Some loose hihats and open hats, very faint percs in the background and a sub-bass underneath. I often use a sub-bass on my tracks because it makes the beats sound fuller. The bass of the sample sidechained with the kicks make them sound more punchy and I love it, it has that lo-fi sound but instead of being a chill/sad beat, it's aggresive.

I took the dialogues from episode 4 of Samurai Champloo. I talked about it a litte bit on the previous post. Mugen and Jin are fighting as bodyguards for some gangsters while passing by a town, but they're working for opposing factions. Chaos ensues later in this crazy tale as they have an epic clash!.

Thanks for lending me your attention guys. I hope you like this beat guys!
Choon link below:

Of samurai & thugs



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

I love the artwork you find of the series. It's so goooood!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by elbrujo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66