Sittin' On The Dock of the Bay by Ed Privat

in #dsound5 years ago (edited)


Hey guys!!

I hope that you are all okay, I had 3 days off, and it was great to be able to focus on the papers for our plan to leave, and work on my album too. I managed to work on my own on one of the prod (Power Of Love) and I am quite happy with the result, there's of course a little bit more work to do but it's getting there.
I go back to work tomorrow, and back to wake up super early, but I am fine with it, I am still gonna find some time in the evening to do whatever I need to do.
Every time we eat, we bless our food, so I thought the same way , I wanna bless this song and you all out there, I hope the best come out for you,
Have a great day/evening

Let's have a throwback with a cover of Sittin' On The Dock Of The Bay, a song by Ottis REddin' that I modified a little

I leave you with the lyrics

CHeers!!

(Sittin' On) The Dock of the Bay
Otis Redding

Sittin' in the mornin' sun
I'll be sittin' when the evenin' comes
Watchin' the ships roll in
Then I watch 'em roll away again
I'm sittin' on the dock of the bay
Watchin' the tide, roll away
I'm sittin' on the dock of the bay
Wastin' time
I left my home in Georgia
And I headed for the Frisco Bay
'Cause I've got nothin' to live for
Looks like nothin's gonna come my way, so
I'm just come sittin' on the dock of the bay
Watchin' the tide roll away
I'm sittin' on the dock of the bay, wastin' time
Looks like nothin's gonna change
Everything seems to stay the same
I can't do what ten people tell me to do
So I guess I'll remain the same
I'm sittin' here restin' my bones
And this loneliness won't leave me alone
This two thousand miles I roamed
Just to make this dock my home
Now I'm just sittin' on the dock of the bay
Watchin' the tide roll away
Sittin' on the dock of the bay
I'm wastin' time

Virtual instruments: Hybdrid CD drums, Halion one Finger Bass, Fender Rhodes Mk, virtual brass section Real instruments: vocal and guitar



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Great song @edprivat and its motive sounds amazing!

Another great cover, my friend! Love what you did here. You transformed that old blues classic into an RnB soul track and I love the result. I have to add that your vocals ( both lead and backing ) are unique and suit this genre perfectly. Congratulations

Oh that's a dope comment, you know your stuff!! Thanks!

Love the transformation of this Ottis Reddin song. Roger Ridley and Grandpa Elliott do a real soulful version and included it on their second album, PLAYING FOR CHANGE.

Oh! You know playing for change? I remember listening to Stand By Me and crying a bit, it was everything that I wanted. Amazing!!!
May Roger rest in peace wherever he is!

Thanks for your kindness, as you resume work, you’ll be filled with joy! Hope your son is getting stronger!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I will! Thanks so much, our son is already misbehaving, meaning he is better hahhaha

A lion is always a lion!

Posted using Partiko iOS

thats a song i have always loved and listening to it now as I type this comment....

Loving your take on it, love the bassy beat and the almost bluesy feel to it

THanks so much, I love this song so much. The whisteling part in the original of Otis Reddin is because he forgot the lyrics! Crazy right?

I only found that out a few years ago at an open mic when someone sung it without the whistling and when we were talking afterwards he told me that story, crazy but kind of cool as well

Everytime we eat we Bless our food too. Great minds @edprivat and @lionmom, great minds…

:) Yeah it just tastes better afterward!

More nutrient dense too 😉. How’s eating plant based coming along? I’m making a blueberry pineapple coffee cake as we speak. No eggs, no milk, no butter, no gluten. Tonight it’s chiote (Mexican squash) black bean tacos with some veg on the side. Last night was falafel pita sandwiches made from dried chickpeas (garbanzo beans). Fish night is still my fave though 🤷🏼‍♀️

nice one my friend :)
what is your job exactly? if won't answer it it's ok :)
so when your album will be released?

I work for Bolt , a cab company :) I am taking care with others of the french market, customers,etc...
Lot's of pressure, maybe soon I can focus back on music only...

like customer care
Alright, some good news is coming soon I guess..because of you ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83